Page 1 of 1
Add RGB Panel - Vertical/Horizontal alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:45 pm
by potetpro
Hello.
I just built a RGB panel from Led-strips and a DMX512 to SPI decoder. The panel is 11x9 pixels.
3 LEDs = 1 Pixel, 99 Pixels, 297 LEDS.
The "Add RGB Panel" button is really helpful and lets you choose in which corner the Led-strip begins, and if you are doing a Zigzag or snake orientation.
The only problem is that it assumes that the Led-strips are laid out horizontally, and i built mine vertically.
Is there an easy way or implement a option in the RGB panel button, so that the user can specify horizontally or vertically alignment?
I could just turn my panel sideways, but i built it this way so i want to use it this way
http://i.imgur.com/aEHAWSy.jpg
Video, using the original light controller:
http://imgur.com/VmwbPqK
My setup:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/-/171039485627? ... OC:US:3160
http://www.ebay.com/itm/181809475690
http://www.enttec.com/index.php?main_me ... s&pn=70303
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:58 pm
by mcallegari
Hi, have you tried to create the RGB panel setting "bottom-left" as corner of origin ?
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:07 pm
by potetpro
Yes, this creates a matrix from bottom-left to bottom-right, rising upwards like a snake.
........................
28-29-30-31-32-33-34-35-36
19-20-21-22-23-24-25-26-27
18-17-16-15-14-13-12-11-10
1- 2- 3- 4- 5- 6- 7- 8- 9
By my matrix starts in the bottom-left and rises straight up.
9-10-28-29
8-11-27-30
7-12-26-31
6-13-25-32
5-14-24-33
4-15-23-34
3-16-22-35.......
2-17-21-36..........
1-19-20-37.........
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:17 pm
by mcallegari
Ah ok, right.
Most of the RGB scripts though have an option to set the horizontal or vertical orientation.
What is your issue exactly ? (aside from the preview rotated by 90 degrees)
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:27 pm
by potetpro
Where are these RGB scripts located?
I have just tested using the "Add RGB panel" button next to the "Add fixture" botton, on the Fixtures tab.
Something like this is what i had in mind
Just an option for alignment.
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical/Horizontal alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:14 pm
by mcallegari
So the issue is an option missing in the UI and you haven't even started to use the panel cause of that ?
Have you read this
http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/addrgbpanel.html
and this
http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/rgbmatrixeditor.html
?
Also, do you know that you can manually group pixels in the way you want ?
http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/fixturegroupeditor.html
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical/Horizontal alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:30 pm
by potetpro
Yes, i have read all the manual pages, i know i can setup the RGB Panel manually.
The only thing i was missing was the horizontal/vertical option (tried to explain with a picture in last post), so the whole thing can be automatically generated by the software
I have also downloaded the source to see how difficult it would be to implement myself.
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical/Horizontal alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:30 pm
by janosvitok
potetpro wrote:...how difficult it would be to implement myself.
1.
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... anel.h#L53 add enum Direction (since Orientation is taken)
2.
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... anel.h#L62 add Direction direction()
3. adjust
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... gbpanel.ui (as in your drawing)
4.
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... bpanel.cpp add implementations for 2.
5. adjust
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... .cpp#L1043
6. adjust
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... panel.html
7. adjust
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... /changelog
Step # 4 is the most complicated (most probably you can cheat by copying the whole for( ... rows) cycle). The rest you can
copy from similar neighbour code.
Re: Add RGB Panel - Vertical/Horizontal alignment
Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 10:53 pm
by potetpro
Thanks
I just made it using the fixture group editor, gonna do some testing