Using E1.31 in multiple control stations setting

Archive of the non-categorized posts related to the QLC+ technical support.
Please do not create new threads here, instead, use the categories above !
Post Reply
rcourtney
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 7:34 pm
Real Name:

I use E1.31 to control lighting from multiple consoles. Received universe data updates my sliders/etc.
However, running a station with QLC+ does not update sliders with the other station's new positions.
Higher priority senders do not appear to be recognized.

Will the newer version follow universe packets?
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4825
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Not sure I understand what you're doing.
Please provide more info together with which operating system you're using and which QLC+ version.

You might be interest in reading this:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8476

Also, if you use Windows, you can try the TEST version here:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3135
rcourtney
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 7:34 pm
Real Name:

I am indeed using multicast. QLC+ 4.8.5
Below is an ultra simplified control for universe 1 channels 1-8
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/830 ... 31Test.zip

I use this bridge device:
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product ... 53991.html

Each instance, think "NASA Mission Control" style desks with touch screen work stations, see the current levels
of the DMX device and can make adjustments. 95% of the time this would be fine.
We would like to use QLC+ for complex "Rock band style" shows.

Even with input selected, your sliders don't reflect a change if another station makes a slider change.
I may not fully understand the input option. This is perhaps where I need assistance.
rcourtney
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 7:34 pm
Real Name:

There does not appear to be an input "type" appropriate for LAN information such as E1.31 or the older Artnet in the
Input Profile Editor. There are currently MIDI, OSC, HID, DMX, and Enttec.

When a multicast packet is received the channel value would be used to adjust the control like you do for a HID device
such as Behringer BCF2000.
janosvitok
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Real Name: Jano Svitok
Contact:

Either use DMX type, or you don't have to create profile at all -- you can enter the channel manually in each widget's properties dialog.
rcourtney
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 7:34 pm
Real Name:

Thanks for your reply. Still no inputs from multicast.
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8476#p36696 has same issue.

My test program (link above) works fine and is based mostly on the QLC+ dll.

My constructor is different:
groupAddress = QHostAddress("239.255.0.1");
ipaddr = "239.255.0.1";
...
if (udpSocket->bind(QHostAddress::AnyIPv4,5568,QUdpSocket::ShareAddress | QUdpSocket::ReuseAddressHint))
{
udpSocket->joinMulticastGroup(groupAddress);
connect(udpSocket,SIGNAL(readyRead()),this,SLOT(processPendingDatagrams()));
}
.....
m_DMXsender = new E131Controller(ipaddr,macaddr,E131Controller::Output,line);
Post Reply