Page 1 of 1

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:11 pm
by Patrick Rauscher
I'm unable to create a new Sequence in Functions-panel, as qlc+ crashes every time I try. I'm running arch linux with qlc+ compiled from AUR.

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:36 am
by david garyga
Hi,

Please share a workspace,

And the version (or commit sha1) of your QLC+ version.

Thanks

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:12 am
by Patrick Rauscher
Thank you! It happens in all workspaces I used. You find one attached.

% qlcplus --version

Q Light Controller Plus version 4.8.3
This program is licensed under the terms of the Apache 2.0 license.
Copyright (c) Heikki Junnila (hjunnila@users.sf.net)
Copyright (c) Massimo Callegari (massimocallegari@yahoo.it)

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:04 am
by david garyga
This button ?

Seems to be working fine.

Maybe an issue with your build method ?

Or with the AUR package ?

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:14 am
by Patrick Rauscher
Exactly this button. I installed it using this build script: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ql/qlcplus/PKGBUILD - so basically it ran qmake-qt4 and then make.
How can I debug this issue?

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:18 pm
by Jano Svitok
How to debug:

1. (optional) reinstall :)
2. ulimit -c unlimited <-- set core size to unlimited
3. start qlc+ in your home dir from commandline
4. reproduce the crash
5. "core" file should appear in current directory
6. gdb /usr/bin/qlcplus core
7. examine call stack, tutorial here: http://www.unknownroad.com/rtfm/gdbtut/gdbstack.html
8. report the backtrace command result here. Alternatively, you can try to find last frame that is in the qlcplus code (i.e. not in qt or std lib). Check that frame for any obvious problems, like null/invalid pointers, deleted memory, division by zero,...

If the backtrace doesn't contain source lines, rebuild qlcplus in DEBUG mode (you'll have to edit variables.pri file.

Segmentation fault when clicking on "New Sequence"

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:58 pm
by david garyga