Page 1 of 1

How do I loop a script?

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2024 12:32 pm
by Bulgus
Hello,
I'm just learning to use QLC+ and it's great software. But I have a problem:
In order to create random rotational movements of the heads of a scan I have created a very simple script (See below).

Code: Select all

setfixture:2 ch:0 val:random(0,255) // Dual Pat, Pan 1
setfixture:2 ch:1 val:random(0,255) // Dual Pat, Tilt 1
wait:random(100,2000)
Only I can't get it to play in a loop. I couldn't find a loop instruction in the script language on the docs, so I thought I'd put it in a chaser. In this one I only have my script, and my chaser is in loop mode.
But the chaser doesn't wait for my script to finish before restarting the step corresponding to the script, so my head moves but never stops...
I think I've understood that the problem is with the step time. But I haven't found an option to say ‘Time required to execute the script’. And if I set a value of 10s for example, there's no longer any randomness in the time between each movement....

I'm probably doing it wrong, any help would be great :)

Thanks for reading and have a nice day,
Aimé

Re: How do I loop a script?

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2024 9:10 am
by GGGss
If you seek a 'random' solution, the only thing I can suggest is creating a chaser with many steps and a playful setting of the step timings. Have the chaser perform the random steps in its settings. No one but you will notice this behaviour.

Re: How do I loop a script?

Posted: Thu Jan 30, 2025 6:58 am
by Bulgus
Thank’s for you answer GGGss !
That's what I ended up doing, and with the necessary number of steps, you don't even notice ;)