I'm testing some OSC controllers like TouchOSC and recently Open Stage Control. I think I discovered a bug in the OSC Plugin - Profile Editor. Tested on Ubuntu 22.04 with QLC+4.12.7-GIT and the QLC+5 Test version.
If an OSC path includes the character '_' in the first elements of the path they are sent correctly, if the final part of the path is for example button_1 which includes the character "_" is sent only /button.
OSC path:
/button_1 /button is received in controller
/tab_1/button_1 is converted to /tab_1/button
/Main_1/tab_1/button_1 is converted to /Main_1/tab_1/button
Renaming /button_1 to /button1 sends /button1
I don't have any problem using for example button1 instead of button_1 but Open Stage Control when you inserts a button or a slider automatically assigns button_1, button_2, fader_1, fader_2.
QLC+ Plugin Profile editor creates the correct path that received from the OSC Controller when creating a profile, but when QLC+ sends the path does not send characters from the '_' character.
OSC Plugin - Sending OSC Path
- sbenejam
- Posts: 608
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:28 pm
- Real Name: Santiago Benejam Torres
- Contact:
- sbenejam
- Posts: 608
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:28 pm
- Real Name: Santiago Benejam Torres
- Contact:
I found this in osccontroller.cpp at line 306. I made a quick test changing '_' to ' '. It seems that QLC+ is sending now the correct OSC path for /button_1 or /fader_1. But I don't know if this change can affect others parts of the OSC Plugin, it seems that part of code is for "multiple value paths".
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... #L305-L341
Code: Select all
if (path.length() > 2 && path.at(path.length() - 2) == '_')
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... #L305-L341
Code: Select all
// multiple value path
if (path.length() > 2 && path.at(path.length() - 2) == '_')
{
int valIdx = QString(path.at(path.length() - 1)).toInt();
path.chop(2);
if (m_universeMap[universe].multipartCache.contains(path) == false)
{
qDebug() << "[OSC] Multi-value path NOT in cache. Allocating default.";
m_universeMap[universe].multipartCache[path] = QByteArray((int)2, (char)0);
}
values = m_universeMap[universe].multipartCache[path];
if (values.length() <= valIdx)
values.resize(valIdx + 1);
values[valIdx] = (char)value;
m_universeMap[universe].multipartCache[path] = values;
//qDebug() << "Values to send:" << QString::number((uchar)values.at(0)) <<
// QString::number((uchar)values.at(1)) << values.length();
}
else
values.append((char)value); // single value path
QString pTypes;
pTypes.fill('f', values.length());
m_packetizer->setupOSCGeneric(oscPacket, path, pTypes, values);
qint64 sent = m_outputSocket->writeDatagram(oscPacket.data(), oscPacket.size(),
outAddress, outPort);
if (sent < 0)
{
qDebug() << "[OSC] sendDmx failed. Errno: " << m_outputSocket->error();
qDebug() << "Errmgs: " << m_outputSocket->errorString();
}
else
m_packetSent++;
}
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4727
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
I need to read the code again, but I think some controllers use that syntax to handle mutlple values at once.
In particular I think that was TouchOSC XY pad
In particular I think that was TouchOSC XY pad
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4727
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
- sbenejam
- Posts: 608
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:28 pm
- Real Name: Santiago Benejam Torres
- Contact:
You are right. I just tested an XY pad with TouchOSC Mk2 and seems that XY pad is using 2 parameters. For my tests with Open Stage Control I can rename the widgets no problem. I have to test XY widgets in Open Stage Control, the buttons, faders and other widgets seems to work very similar as TouchOSC.