Page 1 of 1

QLC telnet input?

Posted: Sun Aug 29, 2021 9:45 pm
by johnyzpodoli
Hi,

I have a software to control the lasergame arena (battlesuits, scoreboards, sounds etc..). In the arena I have some DMX elements (fog machines, rgb lighst) that I would like to control.

Lasergame control software can send events from the game to the specified IP address and port. By default on localhost tcp port 3100 (can by configured). Many arenas use the DMX software "LightHouse Factory", which, when started on this port, listens and starts prepared scenes. Commands via TCP are for example "sc 1" or "redlights" - I can set exactly what is sent, its configureable.

Is there any way to add this network input to QLC+ and run prepared functions / scenes / sequences?

Thank you for your advice!
Cheers Johny

Re: QLC telnet input?

Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:48 am
by GGGss
Since you are in control of the format of the messages been sent, you could opt to use f.i. OS2L. https://www.qlcplus.org/docs/html_en_EN/os2lplugin.html
You can enable this protocol to a universe in QLC+ as input.
Creating an input profile will help you constructing the show you like to see happening when a string gets transmitted.

Re: QLC telnet input?

Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2021 1:06 pm
by sandinak
I might also suggest OSC ( https://www.qlcplus.org/docs/html_en_EN/oscplugin.html ) .. i've used this in and out to drive scenes and cues. You might find this tool a useful pairing http://cnmat.org/OpenSoundControl/clients/sendOSC.html as it allows you to send the control inputs. If you get this working .. please DO post in the Community board here.. would love to see it!

Re: QLC telnet input?

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 9:31 am
by johnyzpodoli
Hi! Thank you, it seems to work a bit. But I have a some trouble and few questions.

When I send in JSON array for example:

{"evt": "btn", "name": "LIGHTS_ON", "state": "on"}

This button "LIGHTS_ON" ignore this input. For this to work, I need to open button properties, click on "auto detect" in External input and run the event in LaserForce Site Manager (for example start new game).

After this setup its works, but I don't understand why it doesn't launch the button directly (without "auto detection" and a convert it to weird number - look on screenshot).

The second problem is that if the event is generated again (for example run other game..), the button will "turn off the function" and stop running. The arena dims the lights off - this is a big problem!

Why does QLC ignore value "on" in the JSON array? I need the function to always run (always on), I dont want to turn it off when the same event occurs again.

Is there any way to disable the button to turn off a feature? I use soloframe, the only reason to turn off a button (function) is to run another button.

Thank you very much! It looks like we are first lasertag arena with QLCplus in world :-)))))

Re: QLC telnet input?

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:09 am
by janosvitok
johnyzpodoli wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 9:31 am After this setup its works, but I don't understand why it doesn't launch the button directly (without "auto detection" and a convert it to weird number - look on screenshot).
QLC+ internally converts everything (MIDI, OSC) to something that looks like raw DMX data (lots of channels with values 0..255 per channel). the weird number is a way how to map
arbitrary strings to numbers. TLDR: historical reasons :)
johnyzpodoli wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 9:31 am The second problem is that if the event is generated again (for example run other game..), the button will "turn off the function" and stop running. The arena dims the lights off - this is a big problem!
Why does QLC ignore value "on" in the JSON array? I need the function to always run (always on), I dont want to turn it off when the same event occurs again.
Is there any way to disable the button to turn off a feature? I use soloframe, the only reason to turn off a button (function) is to run another button.
You may try to use slider to start scenes instead of a button (then 255 is scene on, max intensity, 0 is scene off). Not tested and I'm not sure how sliders in a solo frame work...

Jano