Is it possible to set a slider level using a button?
I'd like to create around four buttons under a slider, each button with increasing intensity. When I click the button I want the slider to move to that level. I still want the ability to then change the level in the slider itself.
Even better would be if a single button could change the levels in several faders.
And finally, would be great to set the timing.
Control a slider using a button
-
- Posts: 703
- Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
- Location: Germany
- Real Name: Lukas
This is possible with the help of the loopback plugin.
Have a look at the workspace attached. The button sets the fader to a specific value, but the slider still is able to override it. You can scale this to as many sliders as you want. The only drawback is, that as soon as you switch of the button the slider goes back to 0.
(Tested on Xubuntu 14.04 64Bit (Qt5) with latest git sources)
Have a look at the workspace attached. The button sets the fader to a specific value, but the slider still is able to override it. You can scale this to as many sliders as you want. The only drawback is, that as soon as you switch of the button the slider goes back to 0.
(Tested on Xubuntu 14.04 64Bit (Qt5) with latest git sources)
- Attachments
-
- slider button.qxw
- (3.22 KiB) Downloaded 205 times
- GGGss
- Posts: 3052
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
You can accomplish this using the feedback-feature
I've attached a project for you to discover how it works.
If in need of more info - just ask.
Good luck
I've attached a project for you to discover how it works.
If in need of more info - just ask.
Good luck
- Attachments
-
- knobs-set-slider.qxw
- (5.3 KiB) Downloaded 217 times
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:03 pm
- Real Name: Collin
Can somebody explain how the button works? What are the key elements to add to it and what do they do?
I downloaded it and tried to figure it out but am new to this so could not get one working like it and couldn't find a way to cut and paste to my project to modify.
I downloaded it and tried to figure it out but am new to this so could not get one working like it and couldn't find a way to cut and paste to my project to modify.
-
- Posts: 1325
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
The main feature that is used here is loopback plugin. It allows to use output of anything in QLC+ as external input for something else.
In this case, each of the four buttons control channel 1 in Universe 2, that is used as external input for the slider.
To recreate the system, you need:
Besides these two universes, you'll need you normal universes for your DMX input (where your real fixtures are patched) and for external input from real controllers if you have any.
In this case, each of the four buttons control channel 1 in Universe 2, that is used as external input for the slider.
To recreate the system, you need:
- separate control universe (one that is not used for DMX output; Universe 2 in this case)
- fixtures in this universe for every control channel (in this case only1, patched as dimmer -- that is easiest/most convenient)
- buttons in VC to control this channel via related scenes (each button starts respective scene and the scene sets level of the channel). Scenes here are called dummy 10, dummy 50, etc.
- Slider's external control is set to Universe 2, channel 1 (manually). You may create an input profile for easier selection.
Besides these two universes, you'll need you normal universes for your DMX input (where your real fixtures are patched) and for external input from real controllers if you have any.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 7:02 am
- Real Name: certvalue
can somebody explain to me how this works I have no idea about this...thanks in advance