I need some assistance on how to use the GPIO to trigger a scene.
I've created a scene that just dims to a level. Then set the universe input to GPIO.
Created a button and in the button properties selected custom then GPIO and enter 21. It displays 21:? what does that mean?
Thanks for any help.
How do you use the gpio on the rpi
- GGGss
- Posts: 3141
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
Which Raspi are you using? The GPIO ports differ between the versions.
The port mapping is documented in the supplied .pdf with the official image.
GPIO.21 reflects pin 40 and will use DMX channel 22.
Tips:
You also need to configure the port as input or output.
Depending on your use, you need a pull-up or pull-down resistor to get a 'clear' signal.
Start by checking the inputs outside of QLC+.
The port mapping is documented in the supplied .pdf with the official image.
GPIO.21 reflects pin 40 and will use DMX channel 22.
Tips:
You also need to configure the port as input or output.
Depending on your use, you need a pull-up or pull-down resistor to get a 'clear' signal.
Start by checking the inputs outside of QLC+.
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:12 pm
- Real Name:
I am totally confused about setting the GPIO pins as input on the RPI3.
Is there other software that is needed on the RPI QLC+ img that i bought to set the GPIO pins as inputs?
How do i set those pins as input on the rpi?
I quit out of QLC+
then from the terminal tried raspi-gpio get command and it says that its not recognized.
What do i use to find out and set the state of the GPIO pins with the lastest QLC+ image?
thanks for any help
Is there other software that is needed on the RPI QLC+ img that i bought to set the GPIO pins as inputs?
How do i set those pins as input on the rpi?
I quit out of QLC+
then from the terminal tried raspi-gpio get command and it says that its not recognized.
What do i use to find out and set the state of the GPIO pins with the lastest QLC+ image?
thanks for any help
- GGGss
- Posts: 3141
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
The supplied .pdf tells you how to set input/output mode,
You need 'clear' signals for the GPIO to work,
and, you need to test the signal flow outside of QLC+
Rapi3 you use ... ok - new info.
You use a donated version: thanks for this essential updated information.
Since this is the sole income stream for @Massimo, I'm glad to help you outside of this forum. PM me
Hints:
Look in the .pdf for "echo 18 >" You will quickly get to what you have to change in the Raspi config to alter in and outputs
Looking at GPIO signals: https://forums.raspberrypi.com/viewtopic.php?t=61007
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4807
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Since Debian Bookworm, "echo xx >" doesn't work anymore.
The QLC+ GPIO plugin implementation is now based on libgpiod.
Nice and useful article here
https://lloydrochester.com/post/hardwar ... intro-rpi/
You can check also
https://embeddedcomputing.com/technolog ... -interface
and
https://github.com/RPi-Distro/raspi-gpi ... /README.md
I think you can also use the 'gpio' tool
https://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/ja ... pio.1.html
The QLC+ RPi PDF has been updated accordingly a few months ago
The QLC+ GPIO plugin implementation is now based on libgpiod.
Nice and useful article here
https://lloydrochester.com/post/hardwar ... intro-rpi/
You can check also
https://embeddedcomputing.com/technolog ... -interface
and
https://github.com/RPi-Distro/raspi-gpi ... /README.md
I think you can also use the 'gpio' tool
https://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/ja ... pio.1.html
The QLC+ RPi PDF has been updated accordingly a few months ago