Hello,
I am using WLED to drive 20 Strips of WS 2815 with 58 Led each using two synchronized ESPs with 2 pins each.
Everything works fine including connection with QLC+.
Bit there is one issue: QLC+ is only packing two strips in one DMX universe and then changing the universe. So a few DMX channels stay empty at the end of each universe.
However, I do not know how I can train WLED to know that
So question would be if I can set up QLC in a way that every DMX channel is used or if anyone knows how ro config WLED to know which dmx channel is for which led.
Thank you for your help.
Best regards,
Stefan
QLC plus with WLED
-
- Posts: 1326
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
Hello,
first let's save others some googling: I assume you mean this WLED: https://kno.wled.ge/
The solution is to split the strips that cross universe boundary in QLC+. I.e. add strip that fills the empty space at the end of the universe,
and then add strip to next universe that covers the rest of the physical strip.
Let's say universe is 10 channels and one strip is 4 channels:
Physical:
U1: AAAABBBBCC
U2: CCDDDDEEEE
QLC+
U1: AAAABBBBCC
U2: DDEEEEFFFFF
(not tested:) create regular rgb matrix in QLC+, then open QXW file with a text editor and adjust start addresses and channel counts (it's XML).
Then you have to adjust LED positions in Fixture Group.
Make sure to backup!
Jano
first let's save others some googling: I assume you mean this WLED: https://kno.wled.ge/
The solution is to split the strips that cross universe boundary in QLC+. I.e. add strip that fills the empty space at the end of the universe,
and then add strip to next universe that covers the rest of the physical strip.
Let's say universe is 10 channels and one strip is 4 channels:
Physical:
U1: AAAABBBBCC
U2: CCDDDDEEEE
QLC+
U1: AAAABBBBCC
U2: DDEEEEFFFFF
(not tested:) create regular rgb matrix in QLC+, then open QXW file with a text editor and adjust start addresses and channel counts (it's XML).
Then you have to adjust LED positions in Fixture Group.
Make sure to backup!
Jano
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2024 7:18 am
- Real Name: Rolf Ilgen
Hi I had a similar Problem
I am driving a 200 Pixel Matrix 10LEDs Vertical to 20 horizontal with one ESP32.
So QLC+ automatically created 10 RGB Pixel Lines.
8 Lines in Universe 1 and 2 Lines in Universe 2.
The problem was that there was a Gap of 10 Pixels in the automatic generated Setup because WLED Count different to QLC+.
WLED support 170 Pixel that are 510 DMX Channel per Univers.
OCS+ only use 160 Pixels that are 480 DMX Adresses and then Start a new Univers.
Meens that 10 Pixels are missing from what WLED addresses.
I solved the problem by telling WLED to start with Adresse 31 and QLC+ also. So I moved the Gap that QLC+ created to the beginning of the Matrix.
My question is now. Will there be a solution in the Future to become more flexible for seating up a RGB LED Matrix and the Address ranges? Because my plan is to drive a much much bigger LED Matrix.
@Jano
Hi sorry I don't get it. I am a absolute beginner in QLC+. Could you explain the Process a little bit more in Detail?
I can't find the "Strip" that you described. And I am not able to insert RGB Panel manually?
Thank you for your Help...
Greetings Ro
I am driving a 200 Pixel Matrix 10LEDs Vertical to 20 horizontal with one ESP32.
So QLC+ automatically created 10 RGB Pixel Lines.
8 Lines in Universe 1 and 2 Lines in Universe 2.
The problem was that there was a Gap of 10 Pixels in the automatic generated Setup because WLED Count different to QLC+.
WLED support 170 Pixel that are 510 DMX Channel per Univers.
OCS+ only use 160 Pixels that are 480 DMX Adresses and then Start a new Univers.
Meens that 10 Pixels are missing from what WLED addresses.
I solved the problem by telling WLED to start with Adresse 31 and QLC+ also. So I moved the Gap that QLC+ created to the beginning of the Matrix.
My question is now. Will there be a solution in the Future to become more flexible for seating up a RGB LED Matrix and the Address ranges? Because my plan is to drive a much much bigger LED Matrix.
@Jano
Hi sorry I don't get it. I am a absolute beginner in QLC+. Could you explain the Process a little bit more in Detail?
I can't find the "Strip" that you described. And I am not able to insert RGB Panel manually?
Thank you for your Help...
Greetings Ro
-
- Posts: 421
- Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:31 am
- Location: Australia
- Real Name:
- Contact:
Hey guys,
There is currently a branch in development to see if this kind of thing might be possible in QLC+.
Thought I'd bring it to your attention.
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/t ... ssuniverse
There is currently a branch in development to see if this kind of thing might be possible in QLC+.
Thought I'd bring it to your attention.
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/t ... ssuniverse