Hi!
I need help to understand if it is possible to connect multiple computers together to work together on the same show with qlc?
In order to manipulate a light art installation I would like to connect 9 computers with artnet so 9 people can operate small things at same time.
I know that with other consoles it's possible by creating a main computer and making the other computers backup consoles (using different users/sessions), but I would like to know if it's possible with qlc. Thanks!
connect multiple computers together?
-
- Posts: 1330
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
There's no simple built-in way.
Here are some ideas what you can try:
- If you use artnet node and it has merge mode: you can let all 9 QLC+'s output artnet to the node and let the node merge it.
This may work with HTP/dimmer channels or if you can split lights between those 9 computers.
- Similarly - let one QLC+ merge output from the rest of the QLC+
- Make one QLC+ the master one that will do all the output and the others just controllers. Have one artnet universe for DMX output (or as many as needed) and have one per "controller" - i.e. 8 other universes.
Then external control and loopback are your friends. You may even create feedbacks, so the controllers see what's happening.
Jano
Here are some ideas what you can try:
- If you use artnet node and it has merge mode: you can let all 9 QLC+'s output artnet to the node and let the node merge it.
This may work with HTP/dimmer channels or if you can split lights between those 9 computers.
- Similarly - let one QLC+ merge output from the rest of the QLC+
- Make one QLC+ the master one that will do all the output and the others just controllers. Have one artnet universe for DMX output (or as many as needed) and have one per "controller" - i.e. 8 other universes.
Then external control and loopback are your friends. You may even create feedbacks, so the controllers see what's happening.
Jano
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2024 11:18 pm
- Real Name:
Thank you so much for your suggestions!!
I’d like to follow your last suggestion, but I can’t figure out how to organize the computers in that order, that one is the master and the rest are just controllers. Since they are all in the same network and we can just select artnet input/output. How do I give priority to one of them?
I’d like to follow your last suggestion, but I can’t figure out how to organize the computers in that order, that one is the master and the rest are just controllers. Since they are all in the same network and we can just select artnet input/output. How do I give priority to one of them?
-
- Posts: 1330
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
The idea is that only one computer actually sends artnet to the node. The same computer also receives control data over artnet from the other computes ON DIFFERENT UNIVERSES.
The other computers send just CONTROL DATA to the first computer (fader positions, button presses). The main computer then adjusts lighting according the commands.
The other computers send just CONTROL DATA to the first computer (fader positions, button presses). The main computer then adjusts lighting according the commands.
-
- Posts: 1330
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
Unfortunately, I don't have a time to describe generic solution.
Let's start like this:
1. Configure lights on one computer together with virtual console, tell me/us about your setup - how many output universes (I assume you send DMX data to an artnet node).
2. Let us know what parts do you want to control from what computer (e.g. everything from everywhere/ dedicated lights for each control computer/ whatever)
3. What physical interface do you want/plan to use (screen+mouse+keyboard/touchscreen/external controller - OSC/MIDI?)
4. I'll try to come up with a setup
Jano
Let's start like this:
1. Configure lights on one computer together with virtual console, tell me/us about your setup - how many output universes (I assume you send DMX data to an artnet node).
2. Let us know what parts do you want to control from what computer (e.g. everything from everywhere/ dedicated lights for each control computer/ whatever)
3. What physical interface do you want/plan to use (screen+mouse+keyboard/touchscreen/external controller - OSC/MIDI?)
4. I'll try to come up with a setup
Jano
-
- Posts: 775
- Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2023 10:24 am
- Location: Nederland
- Real Name: Michel Sliepenbeek
There are some options within QLC+ you could use, but most of them also have their restrictions:
If you use the Universe Passthrough option on the Inputs/Outputs Tab you can achieve that "universe just forwards what it receives in its input line to its output line" (https://docs.qlcplus.org/v4/input-output).
In a Master/Slave concept, the restriction is that the Universe you use as Master will only accept one Input.
You can avoid this restriction by creating a kind of "Bus Construction" (with different QXW workfiles on each PC):
- The PC of User9 just will have an output channel (which is actually the PC of User8).
- The PC of User8 will receive the output of User9 as input and with Universe Passthrough merge it together with the output of User8.
- The PC of User7 will receive the output of User8 as input and with Universe Passthrough merge it together with the output of User7
- ....
- The PC of User1 will receive the output of User2 as input and with Universe Passthrough merge it together with the output of User1 and will provide the actual output to the Fixtures..
But with this option you also need to keep in mind that QLC+ only "merges the data in HTP Fashion" (meaning overrides can only go Higher, not Lower) and (as you already used the Output option) you cannot use Feedback.
in short: complex to set up and the result will be disappointing.
If you want to make use of Loopback, the restriction is that there are only 4 Loopback Channels available.
Furthermore the widgets (buttons, sliders, ...) on your Virtual Console can only accept one External Input (that is in QLC4, in QLC5 it should be possible).
For Buttons you can create a workaround by creating 9 duplicates of the same Scene (Scene 1 for User1, ...., Scene 1 for User9) and put them in a Solo Frame, but this will not work for Sliders.
You cannot have 9 sliders working on the same channel, unless you put those sliders each on a different page of a Multi Page Frame (but then you end up with a Multiple single user solution; only 1 of the 9 users can be active at the same time).
It might help if Luisa could explain what she means with "small things".
I'm afraid this is not a "Bob Ross Painting", this is real Art.
If you use the Universe Passthrough option on the Inputs/Outputs Tab you can achieve that "universe just forwards what it receives in its input line to its output line" (https://docs.qlcplus.org/v4/input-output).
In a Master/Slave concept, the restriction is that the Universe you use as Master will only accept one Input.
You can avoid this restriction by creating a kind of "Bus Construction" (with different QXW workfiles on each PC):
- The PC of User9 just will have an output channel (which is actually the PC of User8).
- The PC of User8 will receive the output of User9 as input and with Universe Passthrough merge it together with the output of User8.
- The PC of User7 will receive the output of User8 as input and with Universe Passthrough merge it together with the output of User7
- ....
- The PC of User1 will receive the output of User2 as input and with Universe Passthrough merge it together with the output of User1 and will provide the actual output to the Fixtures..
But with this option you also need to keep in mind that QLC+ only "merges the data in HTP Fashion" (meaning overrides can only go Higher, not Lower) and (as you already used the Output option) you cannot use Feedback.
in short: complex to set up and the result will be disappointing.
If you want to make use of Loopback, the restriction is that there are only 4 Loopback Channels available.
Furthermore the widgets (buttons, sliders, ...) on your Virtual Console can only accept one External Input (that is in QLC4, in QLC5 it should be possible).
For Buttons you can create a workaround by creating 9 duplicates of the same Scene (Scene 1 for User1, ...., Scene 1 for User9) and put them in a Solo Frame, but this will not work for Sliders.
You cannot have 9 sliders working on the same channel, unless you put those sliders each on a different page of a Multi Page Frame (but then you end up with a Multiple single user solution; only 1 of the 9 users can be active at the same time).
In order to manipulate a light art installation I would like to connect 9 computers with artnet so 9 people can operate small things at same time.
It might help if Luisa could explain what she means with "small things".
I'm afraid this is not a "Bob Ross Painting", this is real Art.
A QLC Workspace is like a Bob Ross painting: "it's your world, you can create whatever you want!"
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2024 11:18 pm
- Real Name:
Hi!! Thank you so much for your replies and being thinking with me. Very generous of you!
I’m trying to connect 9 computers to a network switch using one interface (eDMX King) as DMX output.
I’m working only with convectional projectors (so, no leds), in one dmx universe. The idea is that 9 artists, which one on his own computer can control through the midi controllers the same setup of lights. Everybody is able to control everything.
So, 9 people can decide to turn on or off the lamps of the installation. Ideally every midi controller controls every lamp of the installation and ideally in LTP so everyone can change the decision of everyone. But if it’s only possible in HTP would also work for me.
The installation is composed by 59 lamps individually patched. So, I have 59 channels in Universe 1.
I don’t understand how I can put in practice your solution of a “Bus construction” because in QLC I can only choose the IP of the computer I’m using as output either input. I cannot choose the IP output of the computer next to me. So, I don’t understand how to configurate your idea.
If I’m computer number 9 how can I tell QLC that my output is computer number 8? Being in different universes doesn’t help, at least I don’t know how.
Or should I have one interface for each computer?
I attached the photos of the scheme I’m trying to use and photos of the material I have.
Here is real art ahaha with minimum budget
I’m trying to connect 9 computers to a network switch using one interface (eDMX King) as DMX output.
I’m working only with convectional projectors (so, no leds), in one dmx universe. The idea is that 9 artists, which one on his own computer can control through the midi controllers the same setup of lights. Everybody is able to control everything.
So, 9 people can decide to turn on or off the lamps of the installation. Ideally every midi controller controls every lamp of the installation and ideally in LTP so everyone can change the decision of everyone. But if it’s only possible in HTP would also work for me.
The installation is composed by 59 lamps individually patched. So, I have 59 channels in Universe 1.
I don’t understand how I can put in practice your solution of a “Bus construction” because in QLC I can only choose the IP of the computer I’m using as output either input. I cannot choose the IP output of the computer next to me. So, I don’t understand how to configurate your idea.
If I’m computer number 9 how can I tell QLC that my output is computer number 8? Being in different universes doesn’t help, at least I don’t know how.
Or should I have one interface for each computer?
I attached the photos of the scheme I’m trying to use and photos of the material I have.
Here is real art ahaha with minimum budget
- GGGss
- Posts: 3137
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
Aren't we overcomplicating things? Luisa needs an Artnet signal merger, and the result of the merge operation must be sent to the DMX interface.
You could use this as a pointer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDUZcJ_sejU
You could use this as a pointer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDUZcJ_sejU
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 775
- Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2023 10:24 am
- Location: Nederland
- Real Name: Michel Sliepenbeek
My assumption that when using Passthrough you can only receive input from one Universe probably was not correct.
Having another look at it, i came up with this setup (for the Master PC):
QLC+ Universe 1 has the USB DMX dongle as Output and will receive Input from Artnet 127.000.000.001 / Universe 0).
In this universe you also add your Fixtures, Functions and create your Virtual Console.
This Universe will act as the Master.
QLC+ Universe 2 will receive Input from Artnet 169.254.255.255 / Universe 1 and will Pass it Through to Artnet 127.000.000.001 / Universe 0 (being Input for QLC+ Universe 1).
This Universe is used to receive (and redirect) the input of User 1.
..................
QLC+ Universe 10 will receive Input from Artnet 169.254.255.255 / Universe 9 and will Pass it Through to Artnet 127.000.000.001 / Universe 0 (being Input for QLC+ Universe 1).
This Universe is used to receive (and redirect) the input of User 9.
Remarks:
- QLC+ does number its Universes starting with 1, while ArtNet starts with 0.
- Ip Adress "Artnet 169.254.255.255" is just used as an example, you should use the IP adress that your Master PC has in your network (so you need to use Static IP Adresses for your 10 PC's,
https://www.pcmag.com/how-to/how-to-set ... ip-address).
- For QLC= Universes 2 .. 10 it is probably better to change the Transmission Mode from Full to Partial.
- If you want to use a NanoControl on each of your 10 PC's, you should set it up in QLC+ Universe 2 (and use QLC+ Universes 3 ..11 for your 9 Slave PC's).
- this option does not provide FeedBack to the Slave PC's.
For your Slave PC's make a copy off the QLC+ Workfile, delete Universes 2 ..10 (or 3..11 if you use a NanoControl on all your PC's) and set Universe 1 to output to Artnet 169.254.255.255 / Universe X (where X is the number of your Slave PC, so you need to set this for each Slave PC, resulting in 9 Slave Workfiles).
Disclaimer: this example only shows that it is possible to set it up in QLC+.
As i do not have 10 PC's in a network, i could not test if it will actually work.
I invite other users to react.
Having another look at it, i came up with this setup (for the Master PC):
QLC+ Universe 1 has the USB DMX dongle as Output and will receive Input from Artnet 127.000.000.001 / Universe 0).
In this universe you also add your Fixtures, Functions and create your Virtual Console.
This Universe will act as the Master.
QLC+ Universe 2 will receive Input from Artnet 169.254.255.255 / Universe 1 and will Pass it Through to Artnet 127.000.000.001 / Universe 0 (being Input for QLC+ Universe 1).
This Universe is used to receive (and redirect) the input of User 1.
..................
QLC+ Universe 10 will receive Input from Artnet 169.254.255.255 / Universe 9 and will Pass it Through to Artnet 127.000.000.001 / Universe 0 (being Input for QLC+ Universe 1).
This Universe is used to receive (and redirect) the input of User 9.
Remarks:
- QLC+ does number its Universes starting with 1, while ArtNet starts with 0.
- Ip Adress "Artnet 169.254.255.255" is just used as an example, you should use the IP adress that your Master PC has in your network (so you need to use Static IP Adresses for your 10 PC's,
https://www.pcmag.com/how-to/how-to-set ... ip-address).
- For QLC= Universes 2 .. 10 it is probably better to change the Transmission Mode from Full to Partial.
- If you want to use a NanoControl on each of your 10 PC's, you should set it up in QLC+ Universe 2 (and use QLC+ Universes 3 ..11 for your 9 Slave PC's).
- this option does not provide FeedBack to the Slave PC's.
For your Slave PC's make a copy off the QLC+ Workfile, delete Universes 2 ..10 (or 3..11 if you use a NanoControl on all your PC's) and set Universe 1 to output to Artnet 169.254.255.255 / Universe X (where X is the number of your Slave PC, so you need to set this for each Slave PC, resulting in 9 Slave Workfiles).
Disclaimer: this example only shows that it is possible to set it up in QLC+.
As i do not have 10 PC's in a network, i could not test if it will actually work.
I invite other users to react.
A QLC Workspace is like a Bob Ross painting: "it's your world, you can create whatever you want!"
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2024 11:38 am
- Real Name: ashley stirland
did this every get solved ?