Hi,
I'm a retired QA Automation professional (python) who is using QLC+ to run lights for a community theatre organization.
I'm exclusively using the Simple Desk, and there are many things it does and doesn't do that confuse me, both UI-wise and functionality-wise.
I'm assuming that a popular way for me to bring up these issues would be for me to provide a failing test with or without code that might fix it.
It looks like the source code for Simple Desk is at
qmlui/simpledesk.cpp
and functional tests are at
qlcplus/engine/test/cue/cue_test.cpp and
qlcplus/engine/test/cuestack/cuestack_test.cpp
When looking in ui/test, I see many for the virtual console, but nothing that looks like it belongs to Simple Desk. Is there someplace else I should look?
I need to get back to editing my current show at the moment, but I'm hoping to make some progress on some of my issues before I need to program my next show.
Thanks,
-Leah
Test coverage for Simple Desk
-
- Posts: 1318
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
Hello,
First, there are 2 versions in one repo: QLC+4 (classic QT) is in the ui/ directory, QLC+5 (QML) is in the qmlui/
So:
- https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... ledesk.cpp is QLC+4 version and it does not have any tests
- https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... ledesk.cpp is QLC+5 version and it neither has any tests
- qlcplus/engine/test/cue/cue_test.cpp and
- qlcplus/engine/test/cuestack/cuestack_test.cpp
are unit tests for cues and cuestack respectively.
(engine/ is as the name says, common engine for both UIs).
If you want to create new test for Simple desk, QLC+4 has some tests so you have something to start.
Maybe for start let us know what is the issue, and I may be able to tell if test is possible/easy /hard/whatever.
Note: I don't know anything about QML tests...
Jano
First, there are 2 versions in one repo: QLC+4 (classic QT) is in the ui/ directory, QLC+5 (QML) is in the qmlui/
So:
- https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... ledesk.cpp is QLC+4 version and it does not have any tests
- https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... ledesk.cpp is QLC+5 version and it neither has any tests
- qlcplus/engine/test/cue/cue_test.cpp and
- qlcplus/engine/test/cuestack/cuestack_test.cpp
are unit tests for cues and cuestack respectively.
(engine/ is as the name says, common engine for both UIs).
If you want to create new test for Simple desk, QLC+4 has some tests so you have something to start.
Maybe for start let us know what is the issue, and I may be able to tell if test is possible/easy /hard/whatever.
Note: I don't know anything about QML tests...
Jano
-
- Posts: 1318
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
Here: https://coveralls.io/github/mcallegari/qlcplus you can see the test coverage, and by that you can tell what parts are covered and what are not.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2024 5:58 pm
- Real Name: Leah Klearman
Thanks Jano! I've installed both version 4 and version 5, and I can't tell if version 5 even has a simple desk.janosvitok wrote: ↑Thu Oct 24, 2024 8:36 pm First, there are 2 versions in one repo: QLC+4 (classic QT) is in the ui/ directory, QLC+5 (QML) is in the qmlui/
- https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... ledesk.cpp is QLC+4 version and it does not have any tests
- https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... ledesk.cpp is QLC+5 version and it neither has any tests
Maybe for start let us know what is the issue, and I may be able to tell if test is possible/easy /hard/whatever.
I'm 100% sure about one UI bug. If you're editing an existing cue, and make a change to a slider, the fade (in, seconds value) information disappears. The workaround is to edit the cue again and put the fade back.
There's also a problem with playback of a couple of my cues where it *seems like* the fade value is being ignored. I have a suspicion that it has to do with the relative values of the previous cue, but i haven't had the time (in the middle of a production) to investigate further.
Most other things that are bothering me are probably part of someone's workflow, and if implemented, should probably be put behind advanced settings (registry, config file, whatever).
Thanks!
-Leah
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4690
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Seriously? See screenshot.
Also, Cue stack is no longer supported and removed in v5 so please don't make any contribution to it.
Recommended workflow is using Scene + Chaser + Virtual Console widgets
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2024 5:58 pm
- Real Name: Leah Klearman
You'll be delighted to hear that I'm aware that I'm sometimes oblivious to the obvious, and I've also sorted out that the second problem I mentioned is user error. I will likely still try to fix the first for my own use, but I won't submit a PR unless asked.
Regards,
-Leah
Regards,
-Leah