So, I bought a new AKAI APC mini mk2 earlier this week. Although very similar to the previous version of the APC mini, this one has 8 x 8 RGB buttons. A couple of button locations have also been changed, as well as channel numbers. To get everything to work, I've put in a pull-request with an updated input profile + midi template: https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/pull/1400
In any case, this is the result, each available color with its DMX feedback value:
Some things to keep in mind:
* Only even values are relevant, as each consecutive DMX feedback value is mapped to the same MIDI velocity.
* The output MIDI channel must be set to 7 to get 100% brightness (when MIDI channel 1 is chosen, you'll only get 10% brightness)
* The control buttons on the side however (Volume, Pan, etc.) have single LEDs which unfortunately only react to messages on MIDI channel 1. Maybe we could add a FixedMidiChannel attribute on the Feedbacks element that could be configured to overwrite the output MIDI channel for feedback to allow a profile to output certain numbers to different MIDI channels?
Details about the communication protocol can be found here:
https://cdn.inmusicbrands.com/akai/atta ... 20v1.0.pdf
AKAI APC Mini mk2 support
- edogawa
- Posts: 630
- Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 10:34 am
- Real Name: Edgar Aichinger
The pull request mentioned above got merged into the upstream source code repository, but there hasn't been a new release yet since.
Either use current 4.12.7-git from OBS, or download two files created by that commit and put them into your user folder,
Put them in their respective subdirectories inputprofiles/ and miditemplates/ - you'll need to create them if they don't exist yet.
Either use current 4.12.7-git from OBS, or download two files created by that commit and put them into your user folder,
Put them in their respective subdirectories inputprofiles/ and miditemplates/ - you'll need to create them if they don't exist yet.
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2023 7:20 pm
- Real Name: joshua
is it possible to make the on colour flash?
- GGGss
- Posts: 3052
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
Yes,
It really helps if you read a little bit.
https://cdn.inmusicbrands.com/akai/atta ... 20v1.0.pdf
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2023 12:57 pm
- Real Name: Ludwig Stang
First of all thank you very much for the post.
I have studied the Akai File. But still I find the following problem.
When I switch to channel 7 to get 100% the midi controller seems not to work anymore in my project which I created.
I had already buttons assigned to Midi controller buttons.
Any tips?
Thank you!
I have studied the Akai File. But still I find the following problem.
When I switch to channel 7 to get 100% the midi controller seems not to work anymore in my project which I created.
I had already buttons assigned to Midi controller buttons.
Any tips?
Thank you!
-
- Posts: 714
- Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2023 10:24 am
- Location: Nederland
- Real Name: Michel Sliepenbeek
Check your input profile.
The first option is probably "0049 slider1", which is set up to react on a Control Change 48 on midi channel 1 (and it is likely to end at 0251).
If you want to use midi channel 7 you need an option "24625 Slider 1" which will react on a Control Change 48 on midi channel 7 (and so on).
So you have to expand your profile with (at least) all buttons and sliders for channel 7 and then again link those values as External Controller in QLC.
The first option is probably "0049 slider1", which is set up to react on a Control Change 48 on midi channel 1 (and it is likely to end at 0251).
If you want to use midi channel 7 you need an option "24625 Slider 1" which will react on a Control Change 48 on midi channel 7 (and so on).
So you have to expand your profile with (at least) all buttons and sliders for channel 7 and then again link those values as External Controller in QLC.
A QLC Workspace is like a Bob Ross painting: "it's your world, you can create whatever you want!"
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2023 8:26 am
- Real Name: Arnau Guillaumes
i have a question. You say that the output midi chanel must be setted to 7 to get 100% brigtntnes. What do you min with that? The midiOut2 channel setted to 7 like in the picture? Thanks!
-
- Posts: 714
- Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2023 10:24 am
- Location: Nederland
- Real Name: Michel Sliepenbeek
Have a look at this post (and onwards): viewtopic.php?p=72071#p72071
As of version 4.13.0 QLC+ has a standard solution. You do not need those workarounds anymore.
As of version 4.13.0 QLC+ has a standard solution. You do not need those workarounds anymore.
A QLC Workspace is like a Bob Ross painting: "it's your world, you can create whatever you want!"