Hi Everyone !
I try to design my own web interface using the websocket API.
I code in local, with the html, css and js files on my computer. I just have taken the virtualconsole.js and the websocket.js files from github.
Here is my problem : When I try my diy interface, I don't have feedback like faders position, buttons on or off UNTIL I connect to the QLC+ webserver (by searching 127.0.0.1:9999 in my browser).
I'm pretty sure It's a problem of "hanshake" or something like that, because the log does have a lot more WebAccess::slotHandleRequest when I connect to the webserver than when I launch my own interface ( I only get Websocket Handshake)
Does someone have an idea of how to fix that ?
Thank you !
Diy Web interface doesn't have feedback until connected thru qlc+ webserver
-
- Posts: 419
- Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:31 am
- Location: Australia
- Real Name:
- Contact:
For any chance of getting help with this I suggest you post a github link so we can talke a look at the code at least.
Are you saying that your "DIY" interface can trigger scenes, but won't get feedback until you access the bundled QLC+ web interface from your browser?
Cheers
Are you saying that your "DIY" interface can trigger scenes, but won't get feedback until you access the bundled QLC+ web interface from your browser?
Cheers
-
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2023 8:55 pm
- Real Name: Clément Delabroye
Thank you for your reply.
All of this magically work when I acces the web interface generated by QLC+
I don't think Github is the right place to share this work , as it is a really sketchy prototype, but here you can see my html script :
For the javascript files, I've got them from the QLC+ github repo :
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... bsocket.js
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... console.js
I've just made a small change to l.26 of websocket.js, from " var url = "ws://" + window.location.host + "/qlcplusWS"; " to " var url = "ws://127.0.0.1:9999/qlcplusWS"; "
As you can see I'm fairly new to coding webpage, so I was very proud to get this little bit working but It's so frustrating that I need to open and close the QLC+ webserver for it to work and I'm not able with my little webpage knowledge to understand why !
Yes it's exactly that ! When I move the fader in my web interface , the slider in QLC+ move but when I move the slider in QLC+, the slider on the webpage doesn't move. Even for the buttons, when I press the button on the web interface the scene in QLC+ activate but I don't get the green border around my button.
All of this magically work when I acces the web interface generated by QLC+
I don't think Github is the right place to share this work , as it is a really sketchy prototype, but here you can see my html script :
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8"/>
<title>DIY Web interface</title>
<link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="style.css"/>
<script type="text/javascript" src="virtualconsole.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="websocket.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript"></script>
</head>
<body>
<div class="first">
<div style="weidth: 100%; height: 100%; position: relative;">
<input class="slider" type="range" id="5" oninput="slVchange(5);" ontouchmove="slVchange(5);" name="Slider 1" step="1" value="0" min="0" max="190" style="left: 6vw; top: 42vw;" required>
<a class="vcbutton" id="10" href="javascript:void(0);" onmousedown="buttonPress(10);" onmouseup="buttonRelease(10);" style="left: 3.6vw; top: 43.5vw;">Button 1</a>
<input class="slider" type="range" id="6" oninput="slVchange(6);" ontouchmove="slVchange(6);" name="Slider 2" step="1" value="0" min="0" max="190" style="left: 12vw; top: 42vw;" required>
<a class="vcbutton" id="11" href="javascript:void(0);" onmousedown="buttonPress(11);" onmouseup="buttonRelease(11);" style="left: 9.6vw; top: 43.5vw;">Button 2</a>
<input class="slider" type="range" id="7" oninput="slVchange(7);" ontouchmove="slVchange(7);" name="Slider 3" step="1" value="0" min="0" max="190" style="left: 18vw; top: 42vw;" required>
<a class="vcbutton" id="12" href="javascript:void(0);" onmousedown="buttonPress(12);" onmouseup="buttonRelease(12);" style="left: 15.6vw; top: 43.5vw;">Button 3</a>
<input class="slider" type="range" id="8" oninput="slVchange(8);" ontouchmove="slVchange(8);" name="Slider 4" step="1" value="0" min="0" max="190" style="left: 24vw; top: 42vw;" required>
<a class="vcbutton" id="13" href="javascript:void(0);" onmousedown="buttonPress(13);" onmouseup="buttonRelease(13);" style="left: 21.6vw; top: 43.5vw;">Button 4</a>
<input class="slider" type="range" id="9" oninput="slVchange(9);" ontouchmove="slVchange(9);" name="Slider 5" step="1" value="0" min="0" max="190" style="left: 30vw; top: 42vw;" required>
<a class="vcbutton" id="14" href="javascript:void(0);" onmousedown="buttonPress(14);" onmouseup="buttonRelease(14);" style="left: 27.6vw; top: 43.5vw;">Button 5</a>
<input class="slider" type="range" id="0" oninput="slVchange(0);" ontouchmove="slVchange(0);" name="Slider 6" step="1" value="0" min="0" max="190" style="left: 36vw; top: 42vw;" required>
<a class="vcbutton" id="1" href="javascript:void(0);" onmousedown="buttonPress(1);" onmouseup="buttonRelease(1);" style="left: 33.6vw; top: 43.5vw;">Button 6</a>
</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>
For the javascript files, I've got them from the QLC+ github repo :
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... bsocket.js
https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... console.js
I've just made a small change to l.26 of websocket.js, from " var url = "ws://" + window.location.host + "/qlcplusWS"; " to " var url = "ws://127.0.0.1:9999/qlcplusWS"; "
As you can see I'm fairly new to coding webpage, so I was very proud to get this little bit working but It's so frustrating that I need to open and close the QLC+ webserver for it to work and I'm not able with my little webpage knowledge to understand why !
-
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2021 3:10 pm
- Real Name:
Hi,
only with changing the WS-URL in the source, your not finished. You have to connect to that websocket.
What does your buttonPress(int) do? But the HTML alone is useles. Provide a full working code, that someone can reproduce it. Github or something
Holger
only with changing the WS-URL in the source, your not finished. You have to connect to that websocket.
What does your buttonPress(int) do? But the HTML alone is useles. Provide a full working code, that someone can reproduce it. Github or something
Holger
-
- Posts: 419
- Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:31 am
- Location: Australia
- Real Name:
- Contact:
GitHub is every sketchy prototypes best friend, it allows you to share the full project and collaborate with others.macledefa wrote: ↑Sat Mar 30, 2024 11:46 pm Thank you for your reply.
I don't think Github is the right place to share this work , as it is a really sketchy prototype, but here you can see my
...As you can see I'm fairly new to coding webpage, so I was very proud to get this little bit working but It's so frustrating that I need to open and close the QLC+ webserver for it to work and I'm not able with my little webpage knowledge to understand why !
Love that you're getting started with QLC+ and development in general.
Learn the absolute basics of Git and you'll be up and running on GitHub in no time.
Then we can help you better!
-
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2023 8:55 pm
- Real Name: Clément Delabroye
Thank for the replies, I've made a github repository.
You can find it here : https://github.com/macledefa/Diy-QLC-We ... /tree/main
I might be wrong but I think i need to trigger the feedback from QLC+ in some way because my code is working fine once I open the webserver, I get the feedback and everything. Even If i'm just opening the webserver and closing it right after.
To remove as much code error from my webpage as possible, I tested the websocket connection with the "WebSocket Test Client" Chrome extension using these steps :
- I launch my QLC+ project using the --web Command-Line Parameters
- I connect to ws://127.0.0.1:9999/qlcplusWS using the "WebSocket Test Client" Chrome extension (it showed me "OPENED")
- I move a slider in the QLC+ app virtual console and get no Websocket message in the chrome extension
- I connect to the QLC+ Webserver by searching "127.0.0.1:9999" in the chrome browser
- I , directly after opening it, close the QLC+ webserver
- I move the slider in QLC+ app Virtual Console and get Websocket feedback message in the chrome extension
I may need to send a special request to QLC+ Webserver to enable Websocket feedback message ?
You can find it here : https://github.com/macledefa/Diy-QLC-We ... /tree/main
In the virtualconsole.js file, I've found :
Code: Select all
function buttonPress(id) {
websocket.send(id + "|255");
}
To remove as much code error from my webpage as possible, I tested the websocket connection with the "WebSocket Test Client" Chrome extension using these steps :
- I launch my QLC+ project using the --web Command-Line Parameters
- I connect to ws://127.0.0.1:9999/qlcplusWS using the "WebSocket Test Client" Chrome extension (it showed me "OPENED")
- I move a slider in the QLC+ app virtual console and get no Websocket message in the chrome extension
- I connect to the QLC+ Webserver by searching "127.0.0.1:9999" in the chrome browser
- I , directly after opening it, close the QLC+ webserver
- I move the slider in QLC+ app Virtual Console and get Websocket feedback message in the chrome extension
I may need to send a special request to QLC+ Webserver to enable Websocket feedback message ?
-
- Posts: 24
- Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2023 8:55 pm
- Real Name: Clément Delabroye
I managed to get it working !
So I was searching thru the https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... n.cpp#L354 file, and at line 336 , I found :
I don't fully understand this code ( it seems like it try to poll the websocketevery 5 seconds ? ) but this means (to me) that there is a "enable websocket" boolean that need to be true to have proper bidirectional websocket communication.
So, to trigger it, I simply send a HTTP GET request to the QLC+ server in my code and finally my DIY webinterface is working directly !
Thank you guys !
So I was searching thru the https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... n.cpp#L354 file, and at line 336 , I found :
Code: Select all
QHttpConnection *QHttpConnection::enableWebSocket(bool enable)
{
m_isWebSocket = enable;
m_pollTimer = new QTimer(this);
m_pollTimer->setInterval(5000);
connect(m_pollTimer, SIGNAL(timeout()),
this, SLOT(slotWebSocketPollTimeout()));
m_pollTimer->start();
return this;
}
So, to trigger it, I simply send a HTTP GET request to the QLC+ server in my code and finally my DIY webinterface is working directly !
Thank you guys !