Speed Dial Multiplier over 16

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
Post Reply
DSTN
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:03 pm
Real Name:

Is there a possibility to multiply the speed dial with values over 16 (like 32 or 64)?

Why I want this?
I use the same dial to bpm sync color swaps and head movement.
But if I use big movement patterns on a high bpm, I need a huge multiplier for the heads in order to keep them in a normal speed.
I'm open for alternative ways.

Regards
User avatar
GGGss
Posts: 3052
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
Location: Belgium
Real Name: Fredje Gallon

A 2 or 4 step chaser with dummy steps inside? Your Speed dial will set its pace, divided by the n# of steps.
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
DSTN
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:03 pm
Real Name:

Hm, at this moment I use the speed dial to set the time per step.
I don't know what dummy steps exactly are but if I add a new step to a chaser the moving head EFX will still finish after the same time, since it is one step in the chaser.
I would need to split up one movment EFX into 2 movment EFX or something like this.
User avatar
GGGss
Posts: 3052
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
Location: Belgium
Real Name: Fredje Gallon

I see ... ok,
Now you have to make a chaser which is in fact your master timer.
With the use of dummy steps you extend this timer.
Through the use of a loopback channel you can trigger your EFX chaser. I have composed many examples here in the forum for the loopback-magic.
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
DSTN
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:03 pm
Real Name:

haha loopbacks are amazing, overall! :D
thank you so much, regards

the/one solution:
1. enable loopback (in the in- / output window) in a new unsiverse as in- and output
2. add one fixture into the new universe with one channel (name it clock or something)
3. create a chaser where the clock is 1/2 of the time at 255 and 1/2 at 0/unused
4. trigger this chaser all time and time it with a speed dial in the virtual console
5. use the clock channel from the loopback universe (as setup above) as a tap input of a new speed dial in the virtual console

... the new speed dial will be half so fast as the normal speed dial and can be used to multiply speed by 32 (or even higher if more steps in the chaser set the clock to 0)

Image
Last edited by DSTN on Sat Aug 06, 2022 8:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
janosvitok
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Real Name: Jano Svitok
Contact:

The code to add this is quite simple:
you need to add the new values at these places:

1. https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... tion.h#L38
2. https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... n.cpp#L102
3. https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... n.cpp#L125

and compile QLC+ again.

If you write here what exact values do you need (e.g. 1/32, 1/64, 32, 64), maybe Massimo will add them some time.

Jano
DSTN
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2022 4:03 pm
Real Name:

Cool, thank you! Just a UI thing :D

Values up to and down to 64 (i. e. 1/32, 1/64, 32, 64) would be great overall.
User avatar
GGGss
Posts: 3052
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
Location: Belgium
Real Name: Fredje Gallon

Love you man ... you got it worked out all right :)
THX for sharing your solution - it will come in handy to others 4 sure.

hint:
DSTN wrote: Sat Aug 06, 2022 8:02 pm 4. trigger this chaser all time and time it with a speed dial in the virtual console
Use a collection called 'init' or 'startup' with all those functions inside... whenever you have to restart your setup, hit this one cue and you are clear...
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
Post Reply