Hi,
Love the software! Now just trying it on Raspberry pi 3 with official image- starts up no problem, have issue with autostart after install of Wave share SpotPear 3.2 display (connects directly to pins on board)
(I 'm sorry if this is obvious and a stupid question! I am very new to raspberry pi!)-
Installed git first, installed driver from Waveshare git hub- and voila touchscreen display works! Their instructions on their wiki appear to work, which is good and can switch between touchscreen and main HDMI monitor
However I see that QLC no longer autostarts - I just have the log in screen available- I have had many, many hours searching internet for solution to what might be simple!
I think the driver has affected a config file ? somehow and I'm not sure how to get it fixed! Any ideas folks! Sorry if this is something simple I have missed! Cheers, (I'm 52 which may explain things )
Al
Waveshare 3.2 raspberry pi3 install ok, QLC not autostarting
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4807
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Hi, what if you launch qlcplus from a terminal?
That should give you an indication if it runs and is not visible or if it stops immediately. The second case might be quite difficult to debug.
That should give you an indication if it runs and is not visible or if it stops immediately. The second case might be quite difficult to debug.
- GGGss
- Posts: 3145
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
Did you have a look at this here? A sort like troubleshooting ... viewtopic.php?t=1818&start=20
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 9:48 am
- Real Name: Alasdair Thompson
Hi,
Thank you very much!
(I have tried this with both an external monitor on HDMI or with touchscreen active (only one screen can run at a time)
I did try to start diredtly from terminal;
sudo service qlcplus start - (and stop and restart) but nothing occured - waits a few seconds and then I can enter another command
I ran the command to see status of QLC plus:
and got
pi systend(1): Starting LSB Q Light controller Plus...
pi qlcplus(487): Starting Q Light Controller Plus: qlcplus
pi systend(1): Started LSB: Q Light Controller Plus
So I think (!) it looks like it is starting up, but I cannot see any action.
Cheers!
Al
Thank you very much!
(I have tried this with both an external monitor on HDMI or with touchscreen active (only one screen can run at a time)
I did try to start diredtly from terminal;
sudo service qlcplus start - (and stop and restart) but nothing occured - waits a few seconds and then I can enter another command
I ran the command to see status of QLC plus:
and got
pi systend(1): Starting LSB Q Light controller Plus...
pi qlcplus(487): Starting Q Light Controller Plus: qlcplus
pi systend(1): Started LSB: Q Light Controller Plus
So I think (!) it looks like it is starting up, but I cannot see any action.
Cheers!
Al
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4807
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
the following command will tell you if QLC+ is running or not:
If it's running then it means you'll have to tweak the startup command in /etc/init.d/qlcplus
probably adjusting the output device, but I'm not sure since I don't know how the driver for your display works
Code: Select all
ps -ef | grep qlcplus
probably adjusting the output device, but I'm not sure since I don't know how the driver for your display works
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 9:48 am
- Real Name: Alasdair Thompson
Ah, Thank you for your guidance-
The ps -ef | grep qlcplus gives
pi 780 644 0 09:14 ttyl 00:00:00 grep --color=auto qlcplus
I think this means it is not running, maybe started then stopped? Not sure if this is the case, or if it is fixable. No problem if not I will run without screen (its for a portable band lighting bar with footswitch)
Cheers and glad 2021 is nearly done!
Al
The ps -ef | grep qlcplus gives
pi 780 644 0 09:14 ttyl 00:00:00 grep --color=auto qlcplus
I think this means it is not running, maybe started then stopped? Not sure if this is the case, or if it is fixable. No problem if not I will run without screen (its for a portable band lighting bar with footswitch)
Cheers and glad 2021 is nearly done!
Al
Last edited by ALt on Fri Dec 31, 2021 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4807
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Please run QLC+ without systemd. Simply:
and see if it gives any indication why it's not starting
Code: Select all
qlcplus
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 9:48 am
- Real Name: Alasdair Thompson
Hi Massimo,
Thank you for looking at this- if not possible to fix it is totally ok!
I typed just: qlcplus
and I had the answer:
qt.qpa.screen: QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display
Could not connect to any X display.
Thanks!
Al
Thank you for looking at this- if not possible to fix it is totally ok!
I typed just: qlcplus
and I had the answer:
qt.qpa.screen: QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display
Could not connect to any X display.
Thanks!
Al
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4807
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Right, sorry, the proper command is:
(the same of the official image)
Code: Select all
qlcplus -platform eglfs
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4807
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
OK, that is the issue. The display driver is not integrated with OpenGL so QLC+ (Qt) cannot use it
Try this:
Try this:
Code: Select all
qlcplus -platform linuxfb
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 9:48 am
- Real Name: Alasdair Thompson
Hi,
That's very helpful, QLC did start up, but I need to spend some time learning PI better... ( no touch input and no visible close button now)
As gig looming reinstalled the official image and loaded up show as auto start in root/qlc. Did auto start once and now doesn't and if I manually try to open it get message unable to access resource. Weird as did work and auto start before!
Any ideas? I did look at forum and see just saving to root/qlc as auto start should be enough but isn't working consistently sadly. Otherwise will take old laptop to gig but not ideal as used for synth sounds as well
Cheers,
Al
That's very helpful, QLC did start up, but I need to spend some time learning PI better... ( no touch input and no visible close button now)
As gig looming reinstalled the official image and loaded up show as auto start in root/qlc. Did auto start once and now doesn't and if I manually try to open it get message unable to access resource. Weird as did work and auto start before!
Any ideas? I did look at forum and see just saving to root/qlc as auto start should be enough but isn't working consistently sadly. Otherwise will take old laptop to gig but not ideal as used for synth sounds as well
Cheers,
Al