ArtNet node discovered in QLC but no output to pixels
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 6:29 pm
- Real Name: Jay Adams
Hello, I have been trying to get an Arduino ArtNet node to work. I connected everything correctly it seems, as when I load the sketch, the LEDs run a quick test sequence. When I set up the IP settings in QLC, everything seemed fine. QLC said that the node was discovered though I am not getting any output to the pixels. I am currently using an Arduino UNO running IDE 1.8.7 with an ethernet shield connected to WS2811 LEDs. I am fairly new to this and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
- GGGss
- Posts: 3052
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
You are sure that the Arduino is sending signals to your LED's in the first place? Or is that your statement 'load the sketch, the LEDs run a quick test sequence'?
Then manually configure a network address in your Arduino. (Don't rely on DHCP in test environments - you simply have to be sure) 10.x.x.x range with mask 255.0.0.0 as per (old) Artnet convention.
On your QLC+ host you will also arrange an IP in the same range (10.x.x.x)
From your QLC+ host - ping to the Arduino - just making sure it can see the Arduino.
Then ... you can start configuring the QLC+ artnet settings conform to the above settings.
Don't forget that Artnet is 10-based so universe 1 is in fact 0; channel 1 is 0...
Then manually configure a network address in your Arduino. (Don't rely on DHCP in test environments - you simply have to be sure) 10.x.x.x range with mask 255.0.0.0 as per (old) Artnet convention.
On your QLC+ host you will also arrange an IP in the same range (10.x.x.x)
From your QLC+ host - ping to the Arduino - just making sure it can see the Arduino.
Then ... you can start configuring the QLC+ artnet settings conform to the above settings.
Don't forget that Artnet is 10-based so universe 1 is in fact 0; channel 1 is 0...
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 6:29 pm
- Real Name: Jay Adams
It should be. After uploading the sketch for the ArtNet node, the LEDs light up. Though I cannot output from QLC. I have tried numerous IP settings and subnet masks. Everything manual. Here is the code.
Code: Select all
/*
This example will receive multiple universes via Artnet and control a strip of ws2811 leds via
Adafruit's NeoPixel library: https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_NeoPixel
This example may be copied under the terms of the MIT license, see the LICENSE file for details
*/
#include <Artnet.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>
#include <EthernetUdp.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
// Neopixel settings
const int numLeds = 50; // change for your setup
const int numberOfChannels = numLeds * 3; // Total number of channels you want to receive (1 led = 3 channels)
const byte dataPin = 5;
Adafruit_NeoPixel leds = Adafruit_NeoPixel(numLeds, dataPin, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);
// Artnet settings
Artnet artnet;
const int startUniverse = 0; // CHANGE FOR YOUR SETUP most software this is 1, some software send out artnet first universe as 0.
// Check if we got all universes
const int maxUniverses = numberOfChannels / 512 + ((numberOfChannels % 512) ? 1 : 0);
bool universesReceived[maxUniverses];
bool sendFrame = 1;
int previousDataLength = 0;
// Change ip and mac address for your setup
byte ip[] = {10,0,0,2};
byte mac[] = {0x08, 0xE9, 0xE5, 0x00, 0x69, 0xEC}; // make sure this is different than any other mac address in your network
void setup()
{
Serial.begin(115200);
artnet.begin(mac, ip);
leds.begin();
initTest();
// this will be called for each packet received
artnet.setArtDmxCallback(onDmxFrame);
}
void loop()
{
// we call the read function inside the loop
artnet.read();
}
void onDmxFrame(uint16_t universe, uint16_t length, uint8_t sequence, uint8_t* data)
{
sendFrame = 1;
// set brightness of the whole strip
if (universe == 15)
{
leds.setBrightness(data[0]);
leds.show();
}
// Store which universe has got in
if ((universe - startUniverse) < maxUniverses)
universesReceived[universe - startUniverse] = 1;
for (int i = 0 ; i < maxUniverses ; i++)
{
if (universesReceived[i] == 0)
{
//Serial.println("Broke");
sendFrame = 0;
break;
}
}
// read universe and put into the right part of the display buffer
for (int i = 0; i < length / 3; i++)
{
int led = i + (universe - startUniverse) * (previousDataLength / 3);
if (led < numLeds)
leds.setPixelColor(led, data[i * 3], data[i * 3 + 1], data[i * 3 + 2]);
}
previousDataLength = length;
if (sendFrame)
{
leds.show();
// Reset universeReceived to 0
memset(universesReceived, 0, maxUniverses);
}
}
void initTest()
{
for (int i = 0 ; i < numLeds ; i++)
leds.setPixelColor(i, 127, 0, 0);
leds.show();
delay(500);
for (int i = 0 ; i < numLeds ; i++)
leds.setPixelColor(i, 0, 127, 0);
leds.show();
delay(500);
for (int i = 0 ; i < numLeds ; i++)
leds.setPixelColor(i, 0, 0, 127);
leds.show();
delay(500);
for (int i = 0 ; i < numLeds ; i++)
leds.setPixelColor(i, 0, 0, 0);
leds.show();
}
- GGGss
- Posts: 3052
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
looking into the code there is an instruction looking for universe 15 channel 0 which sets the intensity of your panel...
This should have given you a clue.
Id suggest as a test that you change the code (make a backup first)
add before the if instruction:
leds.setBrightness(255);
This should have given you a clue.
Code: Select all
void onDmxFrame(uint16_t universe, uint16_t length, uint8_t sequence, uint8_t* data)
{
sendFrame = 1;
// set brightness of the whole strip
if (universe == 15)
{
leds.setBrightness(data[0]);
leds.show();
}
add before the if instruction:
leds.setBrightness(255);
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore