I'm trying to build my own fixture and I'm currently writing the firmware for it. The plan is that I want many of my own custom made fixtures all on the same subnet all listening to the same dmx universe.
I'm using ArtNET as the protocol, but the thing is I can only get QLC+ (v4.11.1) to talk directly to a specific IP. If I set the IP address to the broadcast IP (192.168.178.255) QLC+ doesn't send any packets. I'm using wireshark to capture, and I can see my laptop sends out the occasional broadcast UDP packet from other stuff, but nothing whatsoever from QLC+. I'm expecting to see a stream of ArtDMX packets, or maybe an ArtPoll discovery message being sent to 192.168.178.255, but there is nothing.
I see there is a new version of QLC+, 4.11.2, but I haven't tried this because I can't see anything relating to ArtNET in the release notes.
Any ideas how I can get my QLC+ broadcasting to 192.168.178.255?
I've attached a screenshot of my config.
Thanks, Ben
Can't see ArtPoll messages on Broadcast IP
-
- Posts: 1325
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
This is the code responsible for artnet: https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... roller.cpp
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:15 pm
- Real Name: Ben Golden
Ah thanks... I can see the code that is suppose to send out the ArtPoll packets every 5 seconds, but I can't see them in Wireshark.
-
- Posts: 1325
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
I can see the packets here in linux (kubuntu 16.04, QLC+ built from git). What is your OS?
I can't test WIndows now.
What is your netmask? (/24?)
I can't test WIndows now.
What is your netmask? (/24?)
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:15 pm
- Real Name: Ben Golden
I was using windows, but actually I just tried it with my ubuntu and it works fine on that. So it seems to be specific to windows.
I guess I might have something in Windows Firewall blocking it or something.
Thanks
I guess I might have something in Windows Firewall blocking it or something.
Thanks
- GGGss
- Posts: 3052
- Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
- Location: Belgium
- Real Name: Fredje Gallon
* To be 100% Artnet compliant your network settings should be in the 2.x.y.z range with mask 255.0.0.0
** you don't need to have 2 NIC's since you can bind multiple IP-addresses to one NIC
* Broadcasts are dealt with through the controller
* nodes will subscribe to the transmitting device (so i think output to 192.168.178.255 is faulty)
* port used on the streaming device = 0x1936 -> open in firewall
* Please verify Artnet spec's since
Please do study http://artisticlicence.com/WebSiteMaste ... rt-net.pdf before making non compliant firmware - it would be a pity if your device(s) were not compliant...
just saying
** you don't need to have 2 NIC's since you can bind multiple IP-addresses to one NIC
* Broadcasts are dealt with through the controller
* nodes will subscribe to the transmitting device (so i think output to 192.168.178.255 is faulty)
* port used on the streaming device = 0x1936 -> open in firewall
* Please verify Artnet spec's since
is actually dealt with through MAC addressing - so your nodes have to have a MAC address owned by you and thereafter your nodes will have an Ip-address composed through the use of this MAC-addresscarnivalben wrote: ↑Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:56 pm The plan is that I want many of my own custom made fixtures all on the same subnet all listening to the same dmx universe.
Please do study http://artisticlicence.com/WebSiteMaste ... rt-net.pdf before making non compliant firmware - it would be a pity if your device(s) were not compliant...
And again : listening to one universe is only part of the whole deal ... you will need an address inside an universe to listen to inside your nodes...carnivalben wrote: ↑Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:56 pm The plan is that I want many of my own custom made fixtures all on the same subnet all listening to the same dmx universe.
just saying
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 12:15 pm
- Real Name: Ben Golden
Thanks... I didn't even think of binding 2 IPs to one NIC, although QLC+ works perfectly well on 192.168.178.x
The controller (QLC+) should be sending out broadcasts, but isn't, thats my problem! ...although it does running QLC+ on ubuntu.
Yeah, I'm aware of this, but all this is for my own project. I certainly don't ever plan to release anything I make or sell anything commercially. And so because the fixtures I'm making won't ever leave my control I'm just using made up MAC addresses.GGGss wrote: ↑Sat Jun 02, 2018 12:45 pm so your nodes have to have a MAC address owned by you and thereafter your nodes will have an Ip-address composed through the use of this MAC-address
~
Please do study http://artisticlicence.com/WebSiteMaste ... rt-net.pdf before making non compliant firmware - it would be a pity if your device(s) were not compliant...
Thanks for the heads up though.