Hello. I do a lot of work controlling LEDs through QLC+, and one limitation I have found is the RGB Panels limiting at 99 pixels in width and length. If I have a line of LEDs that is longer than 99 pixels, I have to come up with creative work-arounds to split them up.
For example, I made an LED bar that has 117 pixels in it, but I had to split the mapping into pieces in order to use any RGB matrices, which was fine for more abstract effects like Plasma, but didn't work at all for the Wave or Gradient effects.
Any chance that could be expanded in QLC5?
Thanks!
RGB Panels More Than 99 Pixels
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:50 am
- Real Name: Ethan Moses
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4710
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
The limit has already been increased to 999.
Give some TEST version a try.
Give some TEST version a try.
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:50 am
- Real Name: Ethan Moses
Oh, great point, thanks! Will that be reliable enough in a production environment?
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4710
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
I normally don't suggest to use a test version in production for the simple reason that they are builds taken at certain points in the development "path".
However, test versions are triggered manually, so I decide to pull the trigger when I feel a build is stable enough.
In other words: you can use them, but I suggest to test your show before the gig, in case something bad happens it will happen at home
However, test versions are triggered manually, so I decide to pull the trigger when I feel a build is stable enough.
In other words: you can use them, but I suggest to test your show before the gig, in case something bad happens it will happen at home
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:50 am
- Real Name: Ethan Moses
@mcallegari or others who responded: is there a specific line of code that I could change to make sure it's just the RGB Panel limits that I'd be changing? Maybe that would make it more reliable.
Thanks!
Thanks!
-
- Posts: 1325
- Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
- Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
- Real Name: Jano Svitok
- Contact:
This is commit that contains the change: https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/c ... 0d21b2R315
The max row count is now 999 (if nothing is specified max is 99, http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qspinbox.html).
Column max is still 170.
The max row count is now 999 (if nothing is specified max is 99, http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qspinbox.html).
Column max is still 170.
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:50 am
- Real Name: Ethan Moses
I'll try these out. Thanks a ton!