Hello all,
I'm currently using this wireless DMX PCB and it requires either an RS485 converter or an RS232/UART adapter and I'm currently using this here using USB but would like to eliminate the need for it by using the GND/5v/TX/RX that's built into the Pi, is there any way of doing this?
Using the UART pins on the Pi?
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4830
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Hi, I have implemented a UART plugin for QLC+.RavenII wrote:I'm currently using this wireless DMX PCB and it requires either an RS485 converter or an RS232/UART adapter and I'm currently using this here using USB but would like to eliminate the need for it by using the GND/5v/TX/RX that's built into the Pi, is there any way of doing this?
Would you be willing to help testing it ?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:30 am
- Real Name: Ramsin
YES!! Absolutely!mcallegari wrote:Hi, I have implemented a UART plugin for QLC+.RavenII wrote:I'm currently using this wireless DMX PCB and it requires either an RS485 converter or an RS232/UART adapter and I'm currently using this here using USB but would like to eliminate the need for it by using the GND/5v/TX/RX that's built into the Pi, is there any way of doing this?
Would you be willing to help testing it ?
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4830
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Hi, at the moment there is no UART plugin for QLC+.
Might be coming soon though.
Might be coming soon though.
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4830
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
So, here you go.
You need to do 3 things:
Add this at the end of the config.txt file in the SD FAT partition:
Otherwise the UART will not support the speed requested by DMX which is 250kbps.
Edit the file cmdline.txt in the FAT partition and turn it into this:
These 2 will be included by default in the next images.
Then extract the attached ZIP file and copy the .so file in /usr/lib/qt4/plugins/qlcplus/
Restart QLC+ (or reboot) and you'll see the UART plugin.
Please report here your results.
Thanks
You need to do 3 things:
Add this at the end of the config.txt file in the SD FAT partition:
Code: Select all
init_uart_clock=16000000
Edit the file cmdline.txt in the FAT partition and turn it into this:
Code: Select all
dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline rootwait
Then extract the attached ZIP file and copy the .so file in /usr/lib/qt4/plugins/qlcplus/
Restart QLC+ (or reboot) and you'll see the UART plugin.
Please report here your results.
Thanks
- Attachments
-
- libuart.so.zip
- (30.77 KiB) Downloaded 329 times
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4830
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Excellent news Ramsin !
Yes, please post a bit of information of your setup as other users might be interested in it and can be sure that it works
Yes, please post a bit of information of your setup as other users might be interested in it and can be sure that it works
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4830
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Unfortunately, no DMX input at the moment.karrika wrote:This is really good news. Does it implement DMX in also?
Once I get the isolated GPIO board done I would love to make an isolated DMX in/out board to the RPi.
It's a programming pain in the ass.
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4830
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 77
- Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:58 am
- Location: Italy-Arezzo
- Real Name: Mihai Andrei
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:28 pm
- Real Name:
I just donated and received a link to the QLC+ image for the PI, and I'm looking to use the native UART pins on my PI, but am a little confused as to the components required. I have a MAX485 converter (same as this one: http://www.jonshouse.co.uk/rpidmx512.cgi), but on that website, it doesn't use the UART pins on the Pi. Does any one have a diagram for which pins are required, and if I need anything beyond the MAX485 adapter?
-
- Posts: 77
- Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:58 am
- Location: Italy-Arezzo
- Real Name: Mihai Andrei
- Contact:
I have done so and I works perfectly
is it of RPI QLC for OLA
1)
put before writing that is
with the command:
2)
put the end of everything
with the command:
3)
simple .. just connect the RI uart TX for the Rpi .. and everything works
(Capacitors are used to overcome small disturbances from the DMX line) the LED is not mandatory but as confirmation that everything works I put .. you can also put it to the test and remove it very important to be bi-color LED with 2 pins .. or inverted pin inside .. or 2 opposite mounted LED .. (then LED with 3-pin and common ground are not good)
the startup will be red .. while charging the image can change the color (flashing of LED type sd) then they are both turned on ..
as soon as you throw the signal you see flashing very fast (almost imperceptible) to 40hz ...
in this case, everything should work ...
We just have to try a real fixture to have more confirmation that everything is ok
is it of RPI QLC for OLA
1)
put before writing that is
Code: Select all
#
Code: Select all
sudo nano /boot/cmdline.txt
put the end of everything
Code: Select all
init_uart_clock=16000000
Code: Select all
sudo nano /boot/config.txt
simple .. just connect the RI uart TX for the Rpi .. and everything works
(Capacitors are used to overcome small disturbances from the DMX line) the LED is not mandatory but as confirmation that everything works I put .. you can also put it to the test and remove it very important to be bi-color LED with 2 pins .. or inverted pin inside .. or 2 opposite mounted LED .. (then LED with 3-pin and common ground are not good)
the startup will be red .. while charging the image can change the color (flashing of LED type sd) then they are both turned on ..
as soon as you throw the signal you see flashing very fast (almost imperceptible) to 40hz ...
in this case, everything should work ...
We just have to try a real fixture to have more confirmation that everything is ok