Raspberry Pi 3

All the topics related to QLC+ on the Raspberry Pi
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

The Pi 3 has been announced today.

Main catchy features:
- 1.2Ghz quad core @64bit (vs the previous 900Mhz quad core @32bit)
- integrated WiFi 802.11n and Bluetooth. Finally !

I am not going to purchase it on day 0. Long story, but I will wait for it to be on Amazon.
So, please, who gets an hold on one of them before me, please post here the output of the command:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cpuinfo
Thanks
Mihai Andrei
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Italy-Arezzo
Real Name: Mihai Andrei
Contact:

You think so sth is not turning us? you have to make changes? I do not claim to use 64bit
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Mihai Andrei wrote:You think so sth is not turning us? you have to make changes? I do not claim to use 64bit
What ?
Sorry but I don't understand what you write in english. Please try to put more effort on it.
Mihai Andrei
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Italy-Arezzo
Real Name: Mihai Andrei
Contact:

mcallegari wrote:
Mihai Andrei wrote:You think so sth is not turning us? you have to make changes? I do not claim to use 64bit
What ?
Sorry but I don't understand what you write in english. Please try to put more effort on it.

however, I wanted to say that if I put the SD of the QLC which turns me qul rapsberry pi 2 and I can not work on a raspberry 3 or works to resource destination? since it has another architecture?
tolmino
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 7:11 pm
Real Name: Tolmino Muccitelli

Hi Massimo....
here in Italy http://it.farnell.com declare it in stock from 07/03/16 .
if noone keep it in less than 10 days.... i'll give you cpu flags in the next week :)

.... for now i know that cpu is a ARM Cortex-A7
Mihai Andrei
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Italy-Arezzo
Real Name: Mihai Andrei
Contact:

A 1.2GHz 64-bit quad-core ARM Cortex-A53 CPU


RsOnline sells them Pretty more volecemnt

http://it.rs-online.com/web/p/kit-di-sv ... oCQIvw_wcB
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

/proc/cpuinfo is necessary to "support" a new Raspberry Pi when they change the SoC model.
Have a look here: https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/b ... e.cpp#L255
If it doesn't find "BCM2708" or "BCM2709", the RPi image will not start fullscreen and will not enable some web interface pages.
That's the reason why RPi 2 was not working correctly when it came out.
I'd expect the same with the RPi 3 and I'd expect to find some "BCM2710" in cpuinfo.

That's all.

As for RS or Farnell (Element14) I refuse to buy from them cause a $35 board ends up costing 52€.
Plus, with my day job I have difficulties to pick up the package from UPS (or anything else) and I prefer Amazon, cause they can send to post offices...and I have one very close to where I work.
Mihai Andrei
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:58 am
Location: Italy-Arezzo
Real Name: Mihai Andrei
Contact:

Just take it out on Amazon yet I ...
errol6942
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:41 am
Real Name: Alan Willis

I have one on order at the moment. I'll let you know what results I get when it arrives.
Surplustronics
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:58 am
Real Name: Brad Fisher

We just received 50 of these beasts!

Here we go:

Code: Select all

surplustronics@surplustronics-desktop:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor	: 0
model name	: ARMv7 Processor rev 4 (v7l)
BogoMIPS	: 38.40
Features	: half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls vfpv4 idiva idivt vfpd32 lpae evtstrm crc32 
CPU implementer	: 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant	: 0x0
CPU part	: 0xd03
CPU revision	: 4

processor	: 1
model name	: ARMv7 Processor rev 4 (v7l)
BogoMIPS	: 38.40
Features	: half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls vfpv4 idiva idivt vfpd32 lpae evtstrm crc32 
CPU implementer	: 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant	: 0x0
CPU part	: 0xd03
CPU revision	: 4

processor	: 2
model name	: ARMv7 Processor rev 4 (v7l)
BogoMIPS	: 38.40
Features	: half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls vfpv4 idiva idivt vfpd32 lpae evtstrm crc32 
CPU implementer	: 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant	: 0x0
CPU part	: 0xd03
CPU revision	: 4

processor	: 3
model name	: ARMv7 Processor rev 4 (v7l)
BogoMIPS	: 38.40
Features	: half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls vfpv4 idiva idivt vfpd32 lpae evtstrm crc32 
CPU implementer	: 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant	: 0x0
CPU part	: 0xd03
CPU revision	: 4

Hardware	: BCM2709
Revision	: a22082
Serial		: 000000007e57c191
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Thanks a lot Brad !

So, apparently they haven't change the SoC name, so i'm happy to say that the current image should run on the Pi3.
Probably you just need to run a

Code: Select all

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
to keep the beast up to date with kernel and drivers
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

mcallegari wrote:... So, apparently they haven't change the SoC name, so i'm happy to say that the current image should run on the Pi3.
Probably you just need to run a

Code: Select all

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade
to keep the beast up to date with kernel and drivers
Hi Massimo,

I received my (first) Rpi3 today and tried to run the QLC+ image (new prepared sd card of course). At the moment, the "old" image won't start at all... Using a HDMI cable only the colourful start screen appears, no text messages or so...

Loading the actual Raspbian starts the Rpi3 as expected.

--- This is only a report, no request or so... ;) ---

Frank
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

I am aware of that. Another user reported it to me.

Guys, I don't have the RPi3 and I would appreciate if anyone can do the 2 commands above (clearly on a RPi2...) and report AFTER having done those.

Thanks.
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

mcallegari wrote: ... I would appreciate if anyone can do the 2 commands above (clearly on a RPi2...) and report AFTER having done those.
Thanks.
Hi Massimo,

hopefully I understood your request correctly... :roll:

I took the "old" QLC+ image, put it into a RPi2 and used the 2 commands (for upgrading to the latest drivers etc. pp.).

After that I changed the location of that sd card (... into the new RPi3) and tried to start again...
... no success, like before. Only that "blank" screen without any boot messages.

Frank
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Ok, thanks.
That's no good.

Please try to do a rpi-upgrade.sh
You might need to expand the root filsystem first with the rpi-config command
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

Hi Massimo,

I tested the steps but without any success, sorry.

1. I prepared a new sd card again, used it inside a RPi2.

2. Minimal configuration via web interface to get internet access...

3. Then "raspi-config" (expanding the root file system), and after a reboot "./qlcplus-upgrade.sh 20151213"

4. "apt-get update" and "apt-get upgrade"

Then I took the sd card out of the RPi2 and inserted it into the RPi3. Always the same behaviour, no boot screen at all...

;) Out of curiosity I copied all the files from the latest Raspian (Jessie) - the content of the boot sector - over that of the QLC+ image...
... and then it started as usual into the QLC+ application, after displaying the whole boot process.

But neither the onboard WLAN nor an USB WLAN dongle was visible ("ifconfig")... Maybe some other functionality is missing too...

It was interesting indeed to see that the RPi3 was running as far as I could see. :roll:

Frank
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Frank please spend one more minute to read my previous post.

I haven't written "qlcplus-upgrade.sh".
I have written "rpi-upgrade.sh"

Totally different things.

rpi-upgrade will update the BOOT partition as well, so it probably solves the boot issue.
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

Dear Massimo,

Code: Select all

wget https://raw.github.com/Hexxeh/rpi-update/master/rpi-update -O /usr/bin/rpi-update && chmod +x /usr/bin/rpi-update
where necessary before I could do the correct

Code: Select all

rpi-update
Sorry, sorry, but as I'm not so much experienced with Linux (as you know... :? ), I didn't see that the command
"rpi-upgrade.sh" that you mentioned in your post couldn't work...

Yesterday I tried a copy & paste from your post and that didn't work of course. Therefore I remembered that "qlcplus-upgrade.sh" but this was a big mistake... :roll: ... sorry!

But, as you can see from my "happy words" above, the QLC+ runs like a charm now (using the RPi3 :geek: )...

... waiting for further requests from you!

Frank
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Alright, my bad (memory failure...)
I should have written:

Code: Select all

/root/rpi-update.sh
That's the one.

Right now I am uploading a new image and the necessary files for the RPi 3 should be in. Either to boot and kernel drivers for WiFi and Bluetooth.
As soon as someone has the chance to run it, please keep us posted here.
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

Hi Massimo,

will you send a new link to that (new) Image file?

Do you have any idea for using the onboard WLAN together with QLC+? Until now I couldn't find that feature from QLC+, while using the actual Raspbian it is possible to configure it (from inside the GUI...).

Thank you in advance!

Frank
Post Reply