Hi,
first of all congratulations to all of you doing such a brilliant job. I tested several other programs for designing light shows and live editing for theatrical use of light, but at last I came to QLC+ as it is the best! As I plan to build my own light control desk on base of QLC+ I like to have a look into the source code and try to find ways to extend qlc+ to my needs if possible. As soon as this work starts, I will let you know.
I started testing the new 4.10.2 on Windows (64bit Windows 7) ad came to this little problem:
If you create a generic dimmer fixture and edit it afterwards, QLC+ will crash if you change the number of channels to a higher value. This is regardless if there is free address space or not for that change. The free address check does not throw an error. As there is not so much sense in changing the number of channels after you created a dimmer fixture, it would be possible just to disable the channel spin in line 474 of qlcplus/ui/src/addfixture.cpp to fix it.
Regards Martin
Generic Dimmer channel number change leeds to crash
-
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:06 pm
- Location: Münster / Germany
- Real Name: Martin Kurze
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
Hi, I just tried with the latest GIT build and it doesn't crash for me.
Can you try a TEST version and confirm it has been solved ?
Otherwise, please indicate the exact steps to reproduce the issue.
Can you try a TEST version and confirm it has been solved ?
Otherwise, please indicate the exact steps to reproduce the issue.
-
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:06 pm
- Location: Münster / Germany
- Real Name: Martin Kurze
Hi,
I used that test version already. Here is my detailled description:
1) start QLC+
2) add a set of generic dimmers by dialoug ( e.g. 6 channel each, 3 fixtures, dmx start address 1, no address spacing)
3) confirm
4) open the properties dialogue of the last fixture by double click in the fixture list.
5) edit the channel number ( e.g. 6 -> 7)
6) confirm
7) try to do any other thing in QLC+. The program crashes after a short time.
This was reproducable on two different computers with 4.10.1, 4.10.2 (23.11.) I will also check this again tonight, when I will compile a new version directly from todays GIT sources.
Regards Martin
I used that test version already. Here is my detailled description:
1) start QLC+
2) add a set of generic dimmers by dialoug ( e.g. 6 channel each, 3 fixtures, dmx start address 1, no address spacing)
3) confirm
4) open the properties dialogue of the last fixture by double click in the fixture list.
5) edit the channel number ( e.g. 6 -> 7)
6) confirm
7) try to do any other thing in QLC+. The program crashes after a short time.
This was reproducable on two different computers with 4.10.1, 4.10.2 (23.11.) I will also check this again tonight, when I will compile a new version directly from todays GIT sources.
Regards Martin
-
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
- Real Name: David
Hello,
EDIT- I just tested. You don't have to do anything in fact, QLC+ crashed from the moment the dimmer edit has been confirmed.
Try to do what exactly ?shortylight wrote: 7) try to do any other thing in QLC+. The program crashes after a short time.
EDIT- I just tested. You don't have to do anything in fact, QLC+ crashed from the moment the dimmer edit has been confirmed.
-
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:06 pm
- Location: Münster / Germany
- Real Name: Martin Kurze
That is right.
It is not necessary to do anything, but sometimes when I tested it, it took some seconds to appear, so I did something else in QLC+.
Regards Martin
It is not necessary to do anything, but sometimes when I tested it, it took some seconds to appear, so I did something else in QLC+.
Regards Martin
- mcallegari
- Posts: 4827
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
- Location: Italy
- Real Name: Massimo Callegari
- Contact:
OK, I saw it too.
In the first test I've done I created just one fixture.
This happens when creating multiple fixtures and I think I know why it crashes.
@plugz: probably they are sharing the same FixtureDef pointer, and changing one deletes it and create a new one.
I think every Generic dimmer should have its own FixtureDef pointer. I'll check the code later unless you fix it before me.
In the first test I've done I created just one fixture.
This happens when creating multiple fixtures and I think I know why it crashes.
@plugz: probably they are sharing the same FixtureDef pointer, and changing one deletes it and create a new one.
I think every Generic dimmer should have its own FixtureDef pointer. I'll check the code later unless you fix it before me.
-
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
- Real Name: David
I also found this, and I'm currently working on a fixmcallegari wrote: @plugz: probably they are sharing the same FixtureDef pointer, and changing one deletes it and create a new one.
I think every Generic dimmer should have its own FixtureDef pointer. I'll check the code later unless you fix it before me.
-
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:06 pm
- Location: Münster / Germany
- Real Name: Martin Kurze
Hi,
I am impressed by the speed of your answers! I never met a developer team before with such a quick response! Congratulations!
Regards Martin
I am impressed by the speed of your answers! I never met a developer team before with such a quick response! Congratulations!
Regards Martin
-
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
- Real Name: David