"Observing" - directive is not copied

Archive of the non-categorized posts related to the QLC+ technical support.
Please do not create new threads here, instead, use the categories above !
Post Reply
siegmund
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

I came across a thing I'm not shure if it's a bug or a feature.

When copying a frame with some sliders, the "observe and update" option in the sliders of the copied frame is lost. See workbench attached: Left is the original frame, right the copied one. Left the checkbox is checked, right not.

Maybe somebody could tell whether that's expected or not.

copy frame.qxw
(11.66 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
plugz
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
Real Name: David

You are right, it's now fixed in git.

Thanks for reporting :)
siegmund
Posts: 703
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

I'm impressed how fast you guys are :shock:

You're doing a great job!
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4827
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

7 minutes ! That's a record :D
giacomo
Posts: 568
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 6:17 pm
Real Name:

maybe it's an issue related, it happened with 2 different file from a previous qlcplus version.
I copied a frame with knobs and after programming to different inputs and functions, the copied knobs were still controlled by the inputs of the original frame.
I don't have the files anymore, to solve the problems I deleted all the knobs and redrawn them again.
plugz
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
Real Name: David

giacomo wrote:maybe it's an issue related, it happened with 2 different file from a previous qlcplus version.
I copied a frame with knobs and after programming to different inputs and functions, the copied knobs were still controlled by the inputs of the original frame.
I don't have the files anymore, to solve the problems I deleted all the knobs and redrawn them again.
I think you misunderstood how a copy works. Let's try a simplified example.

So, you first had a knob "KNOB A" controlled by input "INPUT ONE".

Then you copy KNOB A into KNOB B. KNOB B input it then INPUT ONE. OK, nice.
So we have
KNOB A - INPUT ONE
KNOB B - INPUT ONE

Then you change the input of KNOB A to INPUT TWO.
So we have
KNOB A - INPUT TWO
KNOB B - INPUT ONE

And... this is totally expected and the normal behavior of QLC+. KNOB A and KNOB B are not linked. They are independant. KNOB B is a COPY of KNOB A.
giacomo
Posts: 568
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 6:17 pm
Real Name:

I think I wasn't enough clear:

[ frame A / knob A ] has been copied, they're already assigned so now I re-assign the copied [ knob B / frame B ],
the end result is:
KNOB A - INPUT 1 - FUNCTION X ## not changed ##
KNOB B - INPUT 2 - FUNCTION Y

KNOB A [ frame A ] was controlling KNOB B [ frame B ] too, I delete KNOB B and redraw it, everything is independent now.

I've noticed it because it has happened me twice with 2 different shows, same frame-copy operation, I haven't noticed it copying knobs inside the same frame.
Tomorrow I'll try to reproduce it with the original file.
regards
plugz
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
Real Name: David

giacomo wrote:I think I wasn't enough clear:

[ frame A / knob A ] has been copied, they're already assigned so now I re-assign the copied [ knob B / frame B ],
the end result is:
KNOB A - INPUT 1 - FUNCTION X ## not changed ##
KNOB B - INPUT 2 - FUNCTION Y

KNOB A [ frame A ] was controlling KNOB B [ frame B ] too, I delete KNOB B and redraw it, everything is independent now.

I've noticed it because it has happened me twice with 2 different shows, same frame-copy operation, I haven't noticed it copying knobs inside the same frame.
Tomorrow I'll try to reproduce it with the original file.
regards
I still don't understand what's the issue.
giacomo
Posts: 568
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 6:17 pm
Real Name:

Hi Plugz, I guess I've to narrowed it, it happens with knobs and sliders too, no matters if they're copied inside or outside a frame, it's related to the virtual console live edit.
Once the show has been recorded and reloaded the issue disappears, so I enclose the start file to reproduce it.

start file:
knob 1 > scene 1
slider 2 > scene 2
button > scene 3

1- in the virtual console copy the frame (just to try it all together, same result by copying just one item)
2- switch to live mode - of course now when you move one control the copied one will follow
3- toggle on console live edit and change the assigned scenes in the copied frame to unused ones
4- toggle off console live edit: now if you move the first knob or slider the copied one is still following
Last edited by giacomo on Sun Nov 08, 2015 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
giacomo
Posts: 568
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 6:17 pm
Real Name:

I use this opportunity to ask if someone with a midi controller has tried the issue
frame pages and knobs - with a midi controller
,
I confirm that is still happening to me.

have a good Sunday
plugz
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
Real Name: David

Hello,
giacomo wrote:Hi Plugz, I guess I've to narrowed it, it happens with knobs and sliders too, no matters if they're copied inside or outside a frame, it's related to the virtual console live edit.
Once the show has been recorded and reloaded the issue disappears, so I enclose the start file to reproduce it.

start file:
knob 1 > scene 1
slider 2 > scene 2
button > scene 3

1- in the virtual console copy the frame (just to try it all together, same result by copying just one item)
2- switch to live mode - of course now when you move one control the copied one will follow
3- toggle on console live edit and change the assigned scenes in the copied frame to unused ones
4- toggle off console live edit: now if you move the first knob or slider the copied one is still following
OK, this is a more clear explanation. Thanks. I managed to reproduce this issue. :)
giacomo wrote:I use this opportunity to ask if someone with a midi controller has tried the issue
frame pages and knobs - with a midi controller
,
I confirm that is still happening to me.

have a good Sunday
You've already hijacked this thread with another issue, please don't bring a third one here. Mixing threads will make the forum a mess :(
plugz
Posts: 637
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
Real Name: David

giacomo wrote:Hi Plugz, I guess I've to narrowed it, it happens with knobs and sliders too, no matters if they're copied inside or outside a frame, it's related to the virtual console live edit.
Once the show has been recorded and reloaded the issue disappears, so I enclose the start file to reproduce it.

start file:
knob 1 > scene 1
slider 2 > scene 2
button > scene 3

1- in the virtual console copy the frame (just to try it all together, same result by copying just one item)
2- switch to live mode - of course now when you move one control the copied one will follow
3- toggle on console live edit and change the assigned scenes in the copied frame to unused ones
4- toggle off console live edit: now if you move the first knob or slider the copied one is still following
This is now fixed in git.
Post Reply