Hi, guys, first post here.
I'm working on a virtual console setup to control a laser/RGB LED, and I've run into a problem. The LED light has a dimmer channel, and I would like to be able to control the brightness with a slider in the virtual console. I would also like to be able to toggle a "blackout" function for only this channel of this fixture, basically turning the dimmer down to 0%. For this blackout button, I have a scene that sets the dimmer channel to 0%, but even with the channel set for LTP, the dimmer slider overrides the blackout button I've created. The button doesn't even stay pressed, and the LED stays at whatever intensity the slider is at. I've also tried setting the slider in the virtual console to playback mode for the "blackout" scene, but this doesn't work either. Interestingly, setting the blackout button to "flash function" overrides the dimmer slider, but I want this to be able to be toggled on/off and left alone, not flashed.
Thanks for any help!
Dimmer Conflicting with Blackout
-
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
- Real Name: David
Hello,
The LTP value never forced to 0 is a bug that is already fixed, the fix will be available in QLC+4.9.2
Waiting for 4.9.2 to be out, there's a possible workaround using the loopback plugin. Ask here if you want me to go into the details.
The LTP value never forced to 0 is a bug that is already fixed, the fix will be available in QLC+4.9.2
Waiting for 4.9.2 to be out, there's a possible workaround using the loopback plugin. Ask here if you want me to go into the details.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:23 am
- Real Name: Andrew
Sure, why don't you go ahead and explain it. I'd rather not wait around for the update to come out.
-
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:30 pm
- Real Name: David
Go to the I/O tab, select an unused universe, and select Loopback for both input and output.
Go to the fixture tab, create a dimmer fixture on the loopback universe, channel 1.
Go to the function tab, create a function that sets this loopback dimmer to 100%.
Go to the virtual console, create a button that activates the loopback function.
Still in the virtual console, open the properties of your current "blackout" button (the one that says "dimmer @ 0%"), and assign its input: loopback universe, channel 1. Also set it to flash so it overrides everything.
-> run
-> click on the loopback button
-> it will flash the blackout button
-> it's now your new blackout button.
Attached is an example project.
Go to the fixture tab, create a dimmer fixture on the loopback universe, channel 1.
Go to the function tab, create a function that sets this loopback dimmer to 100%.
Go to the virtual console, create a button that activates the loopback function.
Still in the virtual console, open the properties of your current "blackout" button (the one that says "dimmer @ 0%"), and assign its input: loopback universe, channel 1. Also set it to flash so it overrides everything.
-> run
-> click on the loopback button
-> it will flash the blackout button
-> it's now your new blackout button.
Attached is an example project.
- Attachments
-
- loopback_flash_example.qxw
- (5.16 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:23 am
- Real Name: Andrew
Awesome, it works perfectly! Thanks for the help, that's going to come in handy for all my lights.